• September 15, 2019, 11:29:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Static Route Problems - Can't Save Destination Network  (Read 1779 times)

square_eyes

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Static Route Problems - Can't Save Destination Network
« on: April 23, 2016, 03:50:01 AM »

DIR-880L HW:A1 FW:1.05WW

I set up a static route (since the router has no loopback) to divert all traffic to my servers public IP to a local machine. The static route worked, but I logged in to add another, and the first one had been cleared. But the route still works.

The UI shows I have all 15 rule spaces left too.

Trying to add a second route, the Destination Network won't save xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx saves as xxx.xxx.xxx.0.

Maybe I'm wrong in thinking I can have the router act like a local hosts file and redirect any traffic that DNS resolves to my external IP to an internal address.

Any ideas?

I'm starting tho think that the time that it worked was actually a cached version of my site somewhere.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 04:33:12 AM by square_eyes »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Static Route Problems - Can't Save Destination Network
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2016, 08:03:44 AM »

Seen some issues with the UI here and there. Not sure about static routes as I don't use them. I do wonder if there maybe a UI issue in the display.
What browser are you using? This seen on any other browsers? Try FF?
Post a picture of what your seeing before and after please.

Is DNS relay enabled or disabled? This can play a part in how your DNS is being handled by the router. Depending on rules, DNS relay is needed. Especially with Parental Controls and Filters. Not sure if it's needed for DNS configurations...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

square_eyes

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Static Route Problems - Can't Save Destination Network
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2016, 03:49:17 AM »

DNS relay is enabled. I'm using Chome and Firefox on OSX.

Actually I found that setting the subnet to 255.255.255.255 allowed me to set a local address other than something ending in .0  for example xxx.xxx.xxx.254

Here are the instructions I used, although it's for a different router, it seems to describe the route I am trying to achieve. So unless I am missing something it's not working. http://www.dlink.cc/d-link-router/how-to-setup-static-routes-on-d-link-routers-such-as-dir-605l.html

The crazy thing is, one of the domains I am hosting can be accessed on my internal network. I don't know how it gets its route, because other domains, resolving to the same public IP (which should be covered by the same rule) do not.

« Last Edit: April 26, 2016, 03:01:08 PM by square_eyes »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Static Route Problems - Can't Save Destination Network
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2016, 06:43:45 AM »

Would be a quick test to see what happens if DNS relay is disabled. Re-enable after testing.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting