• April 07, 2020, 09:35:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?  (Read 98 times)

pwolverine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?
« on: April 06, 2020, 03:57:37 PM »

Hey there,

I just got a new D-Link DIR-895L/LE to upgrade my old Billion 7800dx modem.

I have everything setup through DHCP, and the internet is working fine, I just can't seem to get alternative DNS's to stick.
I am using DNS4MEs DNS, but have also tried Cloudfare and OPENDNS. I enter the appropriate primary and secondary
DNS in SETTINGS INTERNET ADVANCED, save it. It appears on the home screen now listing my DNS,
but all tests on the respective sites come back as negative - and the router is using my ISP's DNS entries.

I have tested this through DNSLEAKTEST.COM and through OpenDNS/CloudFares testing web pages.
The Entries are entered correctly, it just doesn't seem to want to register and use them over my
ISP's DNS entries.

I'm using the latest Firmware, 1.21 and there are no updates according to settings. (DIR-895L HW:A3 FW:1.21)

Has anyone had any similar issue, and knows how to get the DNS to stick and work?
My old Billion was as simple as entering it in, saving and that was about it. :)

Thanks for the help,

Simon.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48554
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 03:59:38 PM »

Does the modem have a built in router already?
What browser are you using?
Try a factory reset on the DIR router then setup from scratch. Go in and set DNS addresses in the UI. I would use IE11, FF or Opera.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pwolverine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2020, 04:01:34 PM »

Does the modem have a built in router already?
What browser are you using?
Try a factory reset on the DIR router then setup from scratch. Go in and set DNS addresses in the UI. I would use IE11, FF or Opera.

Hi there, yeah this version is just a router, no modem. I tried factory reset (pressing the button at the back), removing mydlink,
I set it up using Safari on a Mac, but can try FF, I didn't think that would make much difference?  But i'll give it a go.

Logged

pwolverine

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2020, 04:15:55 PM »

Just factory reset, used FireFox, entered the DNS (which appear in listed on the RHS of the main screen),
but still uses my ISP's DNS, not the custom primary or secondary DNS.. It's a strange one I never expected to have to trouble shoot. :)
So DNS test pages fail still.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48554
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-895L/Le - Not saving DNS?
« Reply #4 on: Today at 05:55:41 AM »

What happens if you disconnect the router from the modem, use IE11 set to compatibility mode then input DNS addresses?
Is this the first time your seeing this since updating FW?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!