• December 06, 2019, 08:22:48 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DCS 942l wireless usage  (Read 2868 times)

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
DCS 942l wireless usage
« on: January 15, 2016, 10:27:50 AM »

After installing my camera my wireless seemed slow.  checked my router and the wireless light is continually flashing showing major usage.  Powered down the camera and it stops.  Checked all settings on the camera and can't find anything wrong.  turned off  snapshot and video recording etc but still the same.  any suggestions???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 10:32:25 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?
What wireless modes are you using?
There will be activity on between the main host router and camera and it is constantly at the ready sending video for access by you myldink.com apps and remote access camera apps as well. Be sure to disable any onboard wireless AP features on the camera if they are enabled and not needed.

Test cameras with uPnP and uPnP Port Forwarding both enabled on ALL cameras: DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 12:57:30 PM »

Hardware 942lb
Firmware2.10.7
2 wire gateway router

Found in the logs that it is streaming video somewhere??? 
Logged

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2016, 01:02:55 PM »

Hardware 942lb
Firmware2.10.7
2 wire gateway router

Found in the logs that it is streaming video somewhere??? 
Not using port forwarding or my mydlink services.  Just camera wirelessly  ftping to a NAS but have that turned off now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2016, 01:08:27 PM »

ITs the wireless connection between the camera and main host router which is needed to keep the connection going. Since your not streaming to the MDL service and have shut off FTP video capture, it should be just activity between the camera and host routers wireless connection which is needed between each device and would be normal operation. This happens on other Mfr routers and cameras. I see this with my 933L.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2016, 01:21:12 PM »

Thank you for the reply.  I understand that some communication is going on but it seems to be rather excessive to the point that other wireless devices are slow??  My earlier reply indicating streaming video logs is just me looking at live video while going thru settings.  Sorry for the wrong info.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2016, 01:29:48 PM »

Ok.
How many other devices are connected to the main router?
Is the router a signal or dual band wifi router?
If you disable the camera or turn it off, does the other devices seem faster? Same? No difference?

What wireless modes are you using on the main router?
What video mode are you using on the 942? Higher quality video may have an impact as it needs more bandwidth. Test with a lower video quality maybe.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2016, 01:52:14 PM »

I have about 15 devices that can use the wireless.  Single band g router.  faster with camera off.  Looking at the router wireless light it looks like about 4-6 times a second.  is this normal???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2016, 01:57:01 PM »

Ya a G band router with all those devices then adding a camera? Ya, I think you may need to get an additional N mode band wireless AP going. The camera is probably going to be maxing out the bandwidth on the G radio.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sup_krah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2016, 02:05:43 PM »

Yes I realize I am pushing it.  My concern is the amount of traffic generated by the camera when it is idle and not supposed to be doing anything.  I was thinking I had something setup wrong as I did it all manually but maybe its just normal.  Thanks for your help
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DCS 942l wireless usage
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2016, 02:58:33 PM »

NO It's normal however in your case maybe odd as the wireless resource you have is low and having all that with the camera online is not ideal. If the router is working well otherwise,  the only think you should do is install a wireless N mode AP in conjunction with the router then you can off load the camera and any other N mode supporting devices and free up the wireless bandwidth on the router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting