• September 19, 2019, 03:17:13 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: D-Link 2730U India  (Read 3209 times)

Individuality

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
D-Link 2730U India
« on: December 16, 2015, 10:34:55 AM »

Hello there!

I own a D-Link 2730U U1 router and I've been trying to upgrade its firmware because of some issues that I've been having while gaming and browsing. My router came with the firmware IN_1.02 and I download a file from Dlink support ftp and after upgrading the firmware it shows as IN_1.16. I'm confused as in did I just super upgraded it to the latest version or I actually downgraded it to 1.16 from 1.02. These numbers are so confusing. I also have one more firmware file but it says that its for some another isp than mine (confusing) so I haven't tried that file yet but it's supposedly the latest one cuz it shows on the ftp server that it was uploaded on 3-2015 and the one that I upgraded my router with was uploaded on 9-2014. So should I try that firmware file also? What does this 1.16 means? Can I try this file too http://www.dlinkmea.com/partner/media/product_item_downloadables/3892-20150402_DLink_DME_2730U_ME_1.04.7z Its hw is V1 while my router's hw is U1.

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link 2730U India
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2015, 10:49:43 AM »

No, do not upgrade using the V1 version or any other ISP specific FW file. If you have upgraded to v1.16 from 1.02 this means it was successful and the progression of version numbers is higher is all. Any v1.XX U1 FW file should work well on your U1 Rev Modem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Individuality

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: D-Link 2730U India
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2015, 11:06:15 AM »

Okay I will not upgrade using other files. I'll try and call the regional costumer support to check if there are any new firmware files for this router or not.

Could you also help me find out what might be causing sudden higher latency in online games that I play. The latency just suddenly went up a couple of days back and I can't figure out what in the world might have caused it as I've been playing that game with stable ping for more than 5 years. Are there any settings in my particular router that relate to improving latency times and such?
Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link 2730U India
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2015, 11:12:11 AM »

Are you wired or wireless when gaming? Wired is preferred.

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The modem operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Individuality

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: D-Link 2730U India
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2015, 11:55:26 AM »

I'm using wired connection. These are the stats from my modem.


My connection uses dynamic IP's and I've noticed that on certain IP's my latency is way lower than some others. Must be because of the way some routes take, increasing the overall distance between the server and me. Is there any way or setting that I can use to get the preferred IP's whenever I start or reset my modem? Like any batch script or any setting in my DLink modem? 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link 2730U India
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2015, 01:00:02 PM »

Looks like a ISP issue. You'll need to talk with the ISP to see if you can get a static IP or ask them about this.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting