• November 30, 2020, 12:16:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R  (Read 7349 times)

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« on: December 17, 2015, 05:24:44 AM »

I've had my new D-Link DIR 890 L/R now for two weeks, and I just love it.   Especially after moving on from the Netgear 6300.

A few questions remain that I wish to ask the experts here in this forum:

1) How can I make my HDCP Lease Time "never expire"?  It allows a maximum of 10080 minutes but is there a way to change it to "never expire"?
2) What is IPv4 Multiscan Streams?  Should I enable it?
3) I am running Verizon FIOS -- my Always Broadcast is set to DISABLED.  Is this correct?
4) I am running the D-Link behind the Verizon's Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I router (which has the WIFI turned OFF) -- with this in mind, I should be running the D-Link in "Router Mode" - Correct?
5) I have the following Firewall settings as DISABLED : SPI IPv4, Anti-Spoof Checking -- Should I turn on either of them or do they cause slowdowns / problems?
6) Under QoS Engine, I changed the Uplink/Downlink to 50/50 -- as that's what my service is.  Should I had left it at 300/300 as it makes no difference?
7) Where and how can I select the channels that I wish to use?  Or this Router doesn't allow in doing so?    I tried WIRELESS / SMART CONNECTED / ADVANCED SETTINGS but nothing there...

Thank you in advance for your answers / guidance.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2015, 05:30:29 AM by mystiky »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 07:28:35 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

1) How can I make my HDCP Lease Time "never expire"?  It allows a maximum of 10080 minutes but is there a way to change it to "never expire"?
DHCP: Use Reservations to avoid Lease times.

2) What is IPv4 Multiscan Streams?  Should I enable it?
IPV4 Multi-Cast: Yes
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multicast_address

3) I am running Verizon FIOS -- my Always Broadcast is set to DISABLED.  Is this correct? Yes.

4) I am running the D-Link behind the Verizon's Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I router (which has the WIFI turned OFF) -- with this in mind, I should be running the D-Link in "Router Mode" - Correct?
If your using the ISP modem as your main host router, then yes you can run the 890L as a wired AP only mode.

5) I have the following Firewall settings as DISABLED : SPI IPv4, Anti-Spoof Checking -- Should I turn on either of them or do they cause slowdowns / problems?
You can enable them if you use the 890L as a main host router.

6) Under QoS Engine, I changed the Uplink/Downlink to 50/50 -- as that's what my service is.  Should I had left it at 300/300 as it makes no difference?
If it's working with your configured settings, then leave it.

7) Where and how can I select the channels that I wish to use?  Or this Router doesn't allow in doing so?    I tried WIRELESS / SMART CONNECTED / ADVANCED SETTINGS but nothing there...
Disable SmartConnect if you want to configure manual settings.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 09:27:41 AM »

Thanks very much for the answers, which answered questions and yet brought out a few more.

1) Are there any disadvantages for me to leave the D Link 890L in Router mode rather than AP?  You are correct that the D-Link is NOT the main host router (for the wired connection that is, as it's plugged into one of the Ethernet ports of Verizon's ActionTech, which in turn connects directly to the Verizon FIOS box, making it the true host router), but the D-Link seems to work just fine (again, I am using it only as WIFI router) in Router mode, and I believe that if I make it AP mode, then any & all Firewall settings (on the D-Link) would be ignored.  Or am I wrong?   

2) So if I leave the SmartConnect ON, and just run that ONE WIFI network I setup, will/does the D-Link automatically use all of its bandwidth possibilities (speed) for that network?  Or should I still create a separation two network names and use the 2.4G for Internet PC/PDA/Phone usage, and then Primary  5Ghz one just for streaming to the TV?   If this is the case, what happens to the alternated (Secondary) 5Ghz channel?

All I am looking for is to have the fastest possible streaming on all system and yet, have the widest signal range.  I 

3)  Your answer to my question #5:
" I have the following Firewall settings as DISABLED : SPI IPv4, Anti-Spoof Checking -- Should I turn on either of them or do they cause slowdowns / problems?
You can enable them if you use the 890L as a main host router."

This means since the D-Link is not the main host router (and even if it's running in Ruoter mode), those settings don't do anything when turned on or off.  Correct?

4) Last -- but not least -- where do I find the DHCP: Use reservations?  I can't find it anywhere....

Thanks again!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2015, 02:16:25 PM »



1) Are there any disadvantages for me to leave the D Link 890L in Router mode rather than AP?  You are correct that the D-Link is NOT the main host router (for the wired connection that is, as it's plugged into one of the Ethernet ports of Verizon's ActionTech, which in turn connects directly to the Verizon FIOS box, making it the true host router), but the D-Link seems to work just fine (again, I am using it only as WIFI router) in Router mode, and I believe that if I make it AP mode, then any & all Firewall settings (on the D-Link) would be ignored.  Or am I wrong?   When in AP mode, then the main host router should do all filtering and management of all devices. Having two online could present problems at any time and would be easier to trouble should if the 890L was using in AP mode. Helps in eliminating any un-necessary features that are not being used.

2) So if I leave the SmartConnect ON, and just run that ONE WIFI network I setup, will/does the D-Link automatically use all of its bandwidth possibilities (speed) for that network?  Or should I still create a separation two network names and use the 2.4G for Internet PC/PDA/Phone usage, and then Primary  5Ghz one just for streaming to the TV?   If this is the case, what happens to the alternated (Secondary) 5Ghz channel?
  • For routers with Smart Connect Technology, the router will handle wireless configuration automatically.

    All I am looking for is to have the fastest possible streaming on all system and yet, have the widest signal range.  I 

    3)  Your answer to my question #5:
    " I have the following Firewall settings as DISABLED : SPI IPv4, Anti-Spoof Checking -- Should I turn on either of them or do they cause slowdowns / problems?
    You can enable them if you use the 890L as a main host router."

    This means since the D-Link is not the main host router (and even if it's running in Ruoter mode), those settings don't do anything when turned on or off.  Correct? Yes

    4) Last -- but not least -- where do I find the DHCP: Use reservations?  I can't find it anywhere....
    There is a gray pencil icon on the devices icon in the connected devices list. When you select the pencil, it will bring up another window where you can set an IP address, name and then select the Reserve slider button. This is were you can set reservations.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2015, 09:04:45 PM »

"4) Last -- but not least -- where do I find the DHCP: Use reservations?  I can't find it anywhere....
There is a gray pencil icon on the devices icon in the connected devices list. When you select the pencil, it will bring up another window where you can set an IP address, name and then select the Reserve slider button. This is were you can set reservations."


Thanks.  All worked except the above as I am unable to reserve the IP addresses.  I have tried to do it numerous times and when I put the glider on to reserve IP, enter the same address it's already being shown on and then click save, the next time I login, it doesn't hold it and the Reserve IP is greyed out.  Also, often, I am not shown in what band (2.4 or 5) that item is connected.  Sometimes it is shown, and often times not.

My clients (as example) are:
Host Router on 192.168.1.1  (that's the Verizon's FIOS MI424WR)
My PC on 192.168.1.11
Verizon FIOS TV Box on 192.168.1.101
Samsung S4 Phone on 192.168.1.13

FYI:  On the Host Router, which is on 192.168.1.1 and I have DMZ'ed 192.168.1.10, which is the address where the DIR-890L is on.

Am I missing something?  I am running the DIR-890L in AP mode now.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 09:11:40 PM by mystiky »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2015, 12:03:21 AM »

Reserve IP addresses on the main host router, not the 890L while in AP mode.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2015, 05:00:05 AM »

Now it makes sense... thanks!

Last question: should I set the MTU to 1492 (as Verizon FIOS requires) to make sure I am using that rather than AUTO? or again, since it's not the host router for me, the main host router over-rides the DIR-890L.

In closing, anything else I should know about the DIR-890L and using it with Verizon's FIOS?  I have the 50/50 package.

Cheers!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: A few questions about my D-Link DIR 890 L/R
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2015, 07:37:48 AM »

MTU isn't needed while in AP mide. Routers mode yes it would be adjusted for the ISP service.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.