• October 30, 2020, 09:32:34 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts  (Read 2738 times)

VanishingHope

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« on: December 05, 2015, 09:00:54 PM »

I needed to flash back to the stock DIR890-L firmware but every time I followed instructions to do the emergency flash, via D-Link Router Recovery screen, Internet Explorer would just timeout within a few seconds saying "Page cannot be displayed" or "You are not connected", etc.

Search for... "How to change the default keep-alive time-out value in Internet Explorer".  You should find Microsoft KB article 813827.

Here's the link.  fhttps://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/813827

The resulting Microsoft link will show you how to registry edit and create a KeepAliveTimeout.  Long-story short, I retried for hours and never got a successful flash.  Added this registry entry and bam! worked in the first shot afterward.

Note:  This worked in IE 7, IE 8, IE 9, IE 10 and EDGE.

Hope this helps some others out there with the same issues.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2015, 09:34:49 PM »

You should use the normal factory reset, manual download of FW and factory reset once again then setup from scratch  using IE or FF to upgrade or downgrade FW.
Link> >FW Update Process
I use this to upgrade and downgrade all the time. Works well for me.

Emergency Recovery is for only last resort or possibly a bricked router or a FW load that has gone bad only. Ill let D-Link know about this on the 890. Have you tried v1.09?

Also be sure to disable any browser and PC security software while doing updates as this can interfere with the process.

Also be advised that this is for users using 3rd party Open or DD-WRT FWs and putting OEM FW back on to the router only! All other users that have OEM FW loaded should be using the Link> >FW Update Process only!

« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 12:14:00 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

VanishingHope

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 08:20:13 PM »

Thanks for the information and clarifications!

You are correct, I only attempted this after having installed DD-WRT.  Thought I wanted "more" than the OEM FW that shipped with the router but DD-WRT was just a little too much.

1.09 beta FW is working nicely actually.  Getting great speeds and stability.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2015, 06:55:21 AM »

Glad you got OEM back on and v1.09 is working good. Keep us posted on any other developments. It's a work in progress.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

swobo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2015, 10:26:29 AM »

Very informative post. The idea to go to DD-WRT is dangling in my mind for some time. I might just postpone ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Firmware Emergency Flash - Potential Solve for Timeouts
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2015, 10:41:46 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!