• August 23, 2019, 06:30:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?  (Read 3336 times)

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« on: December 01, 2015, 08:27:31 AM »

I bought a 2210 from a store, not knowing I needed a 2210L for Mydlink like my 7000L supports....
Is there any way to flash it with the L-firmware?
I've tried the reset procedure out on the forums for the 9XX-series but that doesn't work.

Does annons have some info on how to put it into a emergency flash mode?

Regards,
Jonas
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 09:24:01 AM »

No, the FW is not inter changeable with other camera models.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 11:08:36 AM »

But It's the same camera and it's possible with other models.
Why shouldnt it be possible with the 2210?
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2015, 12:01:39 PM »

Probably different hardware. You could try i guess? Did you try with 2210l f/w?

2210l replaces 2210.

http://us.dlink.com/products/business-ip-cameras/full-hd-poe-daynight-network-camera/
Logged

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2015, 12:07:20 PM »

As far as I can see, it's the exact same hardware. But one is for companies and one for private consumers.

Non L vs L-version.
Logged

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2015, 12:11:38 PM »

One example: https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=49212
Logged

Kakashi::.

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2015, 03:41:16 PM »

Firmware code is NOT the only difference between the two cameras. All mydlink enabled devices firmware include the mydlink service agent. This agent allows the camera to identify itself to the service.  This identity is set at the factory and can be found on the label of all enabled mydlink devices as the mydlink No.  This number is also matched up to the S/N of each device, so there are a few things that the mydlink Service checks before allowing the device a connection to the service under a mydlink personal account. 

The DCS-2210 lacks the mydlink No. assigned at the factory and it's firmware does not include the mydlink agent. If you have a device that was never intended to be part of the mydlink service, it is gonna be impossible to make it work as such device would not met requirements setup at the factory for access to the service.

To make sure your device is compatible with the service, the model number will need to end with an "L", the device itself must have a mydlink No. printed on the label and it's firmware must have a mydlink Agent version posted in the release notes.

Hope this helps!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2015, 08:14:25 PM »

Thank you Sir.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2015, 10:02:58 PM »

Well, then Im f***ed and I can throw the camera away then.
Thanks.
Logged

Kakashi::.

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2015, 11:51:59 PM »

Well, then Im ****ed and I can throw the camera away then.
Thanks.

Well, not everything is lost, if you just want to be able to see your camera from a remote location using your iOS or aOS devices, there is a app you can download for free JustConnect+, with this app and a little bit of configuration on your router, you can have remote access to your local network connected cameras. I have helped several forum members with their Business Cameras setups configure access to their cameras using this app. if you are interested, let us know, I'll be glad to lend a hand.

There is just a few requirements:

1. Must have a compatible device to download and install the App -- check for device requirements on the respective app stores  (Apple or Android)

2. Must have a public routable IP address on your WAN connection -- Unroutable IP addresses used by some satellite/WiFi providers would not work.  Cellular HotSpot are also not supported, since this type of connection are not fully managed by the User.

3. If the ISP provides you with a dynamic IP address, you must have a Dynamic DNS service account to track public IP address changes (D-Link provides this service free of charge for a single location - see  dlinkddns.com) You may be able to register using your DCS-2210 MAC and S/N number.

4. You must have Internet access with enough upload bandwidth to carry the load (This only becomes a must if you have more then 4 HD capable cameras) Under normal conditions SD cameras would not required high upload bandwidth. 

This configuration would also helped access your cameras using a compatible browser.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 11:53:36 PM by Kakashi::. »
Logged

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2015, 12:12:53 AM »

I already have cameras that I watch through Mydlink. I don't want another app...
Thanks for the help, but I'll just put it in a box and forget I ever bougth it.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2110
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2015, 05:22:16 AM »

I already have cameras that I watch through Mydlink. I don't want another app...
Thanks for the help, but I'll just put it in a box and forget I ever bougth it.

That's the spirit.  :o

I use ipcam viewer for my dcs-2230s. Works great.

Logged

JonasW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2015, 05:35:20 AM »

This thread can be deleted or locked. I got my answers.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Flash a DCS-2210 to a 2210L?
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2015, 07:03:11 AM »

What region are you located?
How long have you had the camera? Beyond store return policy?
Any interest in selling the camera?

This thread can be deleted or locked. I got my answers.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting