• October 22, 2020, 09:12:47 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?  (Read 9350 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?
« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2015, 03:50:23 PM »

Depending on the clients design, they will pick the best signal I presume.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?
« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2015, 07:32:10 PM »

Furry - thanks for your patience today, and I trust there will be plenty of turkey leftovers this weekend.

Haven't set up the DSL2750B, but with your imparted wisdom today, I did get the DAP-1522 going as an AP.  Problem is that its signal isn't any stronger in the other room than my Actiontec.  I suppose the 5GHz bands are more reduced going through thin walls than 2.4GHz .

I have never played with QoS.  If my wife's MacBook Pro is struggling when it sends emails with attachments, is there a QoS setting that would improve that function?
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?
« Reply #17 on: November 26, 2015, 09:09:25 PM »

Does the PC have problems with attachments when using both wireless and wired connections.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?
« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2015, 05:56:53 AM »

Furry - we haven't tried that - way too busy.  However, when my wife brings the same MacBook Pro with her on business trips, there is no problem sending emails with attachments.  Only here in the apartment.

For the past year, I couldn't figure it out.  Then, starting two weeks ago, I had difficulty sending emails with attachments from my wired PC (Win XP).  Got error messages that the server had timed out (or similar).  So problems with outgoing emails+attachments on two PCs with two different OSes, two different email apps and six different email accounts.  At that point, I suspected Verizon, possibly its modem-router.  (In my experience, all DSL modem-routers go bad.  They burn out like light bulbs.)  After the usual four hours wasting time with VZ help line, I was finally transferred to their executive escalation team.  We discussed and I repeated various test efforts.  (Among other things, I ALSO couldn't send an email with attachments via webmail.verizon.net on a browser.)  When I suggested there was too much intermittency on our uploads, they agreed, they did a "port change" at the CO, and now my wife and I can both send emails with attachments.

Even so, she complains it's slow.  So I thought I'd try to get her a better WiFi signal in the other room.  Not yet.  But your advice certainly helped me understand both D-Link units.

Question:  I tested the DAP-1522 last night by connecting my Blackberry to its signal.  That's helpful because my Blackberry shows signal strength in bars and also reports in -dbm.  When the Blackberry was linking with the DAP-1522, it was no longer listed in the Actiontec.  So the Actiontec "sees" only the DAP-1522 and not any devices connecting to the DAP-1522 although they work.  I think that means that internal LAN networking gets more difficult.  If my wife's MacBook Pro links WiFi to the DAP-1522, will she still be able to print to our printer, which is linked WiFi to the Actiontec?  (And vice versa?)

Thanks.
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2750B as AP or relay ?? Possible?
« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2015, 12:02:11 PM »

What OSX version is on the Mac?
What wireless modes are you using on the DAP?
Disable all wireless on the Actiontec modem.
Try single mode G, WPA and TPIK only, Channel 11 with Channel Width set to 20Mhz only as a test
Then try mixed G and N mode with WPA2/AES only channel 11 and channel width set to Auto as a test.

If there are no filters or road blocks, any device should be able to print when connected to the DAP. However there maybe some things on the Actiontec preventing that if it fails. You'll need to talk to VZ about that. The DAP should be asking just as a wireless pass thru.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 [2]