• July 15, 2020, 10:59:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router limits speeds  (Read 4743 times)

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Router limits speeds
« on: November 22, 2015, 04:56:59 PM »

Hi,

Since today my DIR-868L stopped giving me my full speed.
It always ran at the complete 250 Mbps but now it doesn't go over 90 Mbps. (Before After)
I have it for 5 months now and this is the first time I have a problem with it.
I updated the firmware, did factory reset and rebooted it multiple times and checked if QoS was disabled but it won't go back to the speed.
This problem is on both 5GHz wireless and wired. (I tested the speed of my provider's modem and there the speeds are normal)
And it occurred multiple times but I was able to fix it with a simple reboot. Except now...
Logged

Kakashi::.

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 09:07:17 PM »

Could you please provide the following details:

  • Hardware Version
  • Firmware Version (before and after the upgrade)
  • WAN connection Type
  • What region are you in

This information would be needed to begin troubleshooting.
Logged

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 08:18:43 AM »

Could you please provide the following details:

  • Hardware Version
  • Firmware Version (before and after the upgrade)
  • WAN connection Type
  • What region are you in

This information would be needed to begin troubleshooting.

  • Hardware Version: A1
  • Firmware Version Before: 1.07 ; After: 1.09
  • WAN connection Type: DHCP Client
  • What region are you in: W-Europe
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 03:52:51 PM »

  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 07:09:31 AM »

  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Manufacturer: CBN
Model: SVG6540E
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2015, 02:50:25 PM »

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2015, 03:41:30 PM »

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Can't i bridge it myself by changing the LAN-subnet from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1?
I also already tried the DMZ thing but that doesn't work either.

Still I find it weird because it always worked even on my old router, always full speed.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2015, 03:53:58 PM »

If the ISP modem has a built in router then either the modem has to be bridged or placement of the IP address into the DMZ on the modem needs to be done. However if placed in the DMZ then double NAT may still be an issue. Bridge mode of the modem is preferred.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2015, 04:09:53 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2015, 04:16:13 PM »

If the ISP modem has a built in router then either the modem has to be bridged or placement of the IP address into the DMZ on the modem needs to be done. However if placed in the DMZ then double NAT. Bridge mode of the modem is preferred.

I tried the DMZ, doesn't work. I tried the NAT and something called DHCP. I tried enabling Bridge mode on the router still doesn't work.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2015, 04:17:03 PM »

What is the IP address the 868L gets on the WAN port from the ISP modem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2015, 04:18:25 PM »

What is the IP address the 868L gets on the WAN port from the ISP modem?

192.168.0.274
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2015, 04:20:50 PM »

Try this:
Turning a router into an AP.
Set the IP address of the LAN side pool for the router to 192.168.0.86 then disable DHCP server, SPI firewall, WPS and QoS. Connect the lan cable to the LAN port of the router to the ISP modem. Don't use the WAN port on the router this time.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LrnzpKiller

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router limits speeds
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2015, 06:24:16 AM »

Try this:
Turning a router into an AP.
Set the IP address of the LAN side pool for the router to 192.168.0.86 then disable DHCP server, SPI firewall, WPS and QoS. Connect the lan cable to the LAN port of the router to the ISP modem. Don't use the WAN port on the router this time.

Did that, worked most of the part and then switched the UTP cable and now it works fine.
Thank you :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router limits speeds (RESOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2015, 10:02:45 AM »

Glad you got it fixed. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!