• November 21, 2019, 03:26:14 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5

Author Topic: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)  (Read 19721 times)

nmax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

"Connected Clients" on QoS Engine Page

I'm using FW 1.09 on a DIR-890L (HW: A1), and the list of "Connected Clients" on the QoS lists incorrect IP addresses for clients with an IP reservation.  Is there a way to refresh the list of connected clients on the QoS management page?

As an unrelated observation, enabling the "Enable Anti-Spoof Checking" setting on the Firewall page results in intermittent outages on my local DNS (bind9).

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Thanks for the additional confirmation on this issue. I've notified D-Link about it. I presume it will be fixed.

Please explain in more detail about the "Enable Anti-Spoof Checking" setting on the Firewall page results in intermittent outages on my local DNS (bind9)? Was this being experienced before the FW update? Did you factory reset before and after applying the FW update then set up from scratch?

"Connected Clients" on QoS Engine Page

I'm using FW 1.09 on a DIR-890L (HW: A1), and the list of "Connected Clients" on the QoS lists incorrect IP addresses for clients with an IP reservation.  Is there a way to refresh the list of connected clients on the QoS management page?

As an unrelated observation, enabling the "Enable Anti-Spoof Checking" setting on the Firewall page results in intermittent outages on my local DNS (bind9).
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nmax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Please explain in more detail about the "Enable Anti-Spoof Checking" setting on the Firewall page results in intermittent outages on my local DNS (bind9)? Was this being experienced before the FW update? Did you factory reset before and after applying the FW update then set up from scratch?

Thanks, FN, for your reply.  Unfortunately, the details mitigate the usefulness of the observation a bit. 

I did follow the full FW update process provided on the beta download page, which involved factory resets before and after the FW update.  I did not, however, setup from scratch but uploaded a saved config.  I also had not enabled "Enable Anti-Spoof Checking" prior to the update, so I do not know if the issue was present before the FW update to 1.09.8.  Finally, I also had an error in my BIND (v. 9.9.5) configuration that denied recursion and cached queries to the router.

All I can really say is that switching off Anti-Spoof corresponded to an immediate correction of the local dns server's sporadic (but very frequent) failure resolve local device names.  Since the intermittent nature of the issue was pretty new and unusual to me, I didn't really know what else to pin it on.  Initially I investigated a possible hardware powering issue (local DNS is a Raspberry Pi), but as far as I can tell that wasn't the culprit.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #33 on: December 06, 2015, 07:45:47 AM »

I recommend not loading any saved config files and doing a factory reset and setting up from scratch. Loading a saved config file could introduce a corruption or mis-configuration of the router and give false positives. I recommend testing the router with out any additional DNS servers as these routers are designed for use with connecting to ISP DNS and do not support any loopback features where some queries may need loopback for correct operation.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2015, 07:49:41 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nmax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #34 on: December 11, 2015, 07:13:44 AM »

I recommend not loading any saved config files and doing a factory reset and setting up from scratch. Loading a saved config file could introduce a corruption or mis-configuration of the router and give false positives. I recommend testing the router with out any additional DNS servers as these routers are designed for use with connecting to ISP DNS and do not support any loopback features where some queries may need loopback for correct operation.

Okay I'll do a scratch config over the holiday and see how it goes.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #35 on: December 11, 2015, 07:25:33 AM »

Sounds good. Let us know how it goes.

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mystiky

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #36 on: December 21, 2015, 06:53:40 AM »

I know that the right answer is "when its ready", but since I am new to D-Link, when can/should we see the final version of this 1.09 firmware leaving beta and going into FINAL?     There are sure a lot of fixes that would be helpful to my situation, but I don't like running experimental firmware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #37 on: December 21, 2015, 07:40:50 AM »

We don't know when FW is released so "when it's ready" sums it up pretty good. There is better operation in v1.09 however mostly for router mode.
I know that the right answer is "when its ready", but since I am new to D-Link, when can/should we see the final version of this 1.09 firmware leaving beta and going into FINAL?     There are sure a lot of fixes that would be helpful to my situation, but I don't like running experimental firmware.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiggShooter

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • BiggShooter is BACK!
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #38 on: January 03, 2016, 08:31:33 PM »

Yes I can confirm this as disabling SmartWiFi and setting manual channels and selecting Save. After the 30 second timeout, checking the settings again displays AUTO instead of the configured manual channels.

One ISSUE I did uncover, is that when trying to manually select the WI-FI channel in 2.4GHz / Primary 5GHz / Secondary 5GHz, it reboots for 30 seconds and REVERTS back to AUTO.  This issue WAS NOT present in the previous firmware release.  I did reboot the 890L, disabled all but one radio, and still can't get the 890L to save the WI-FI channel I manually select.  Can anyone else confirm this issue?  I'd be interested in hearing back from a few 890L users regarding this issue.

**UPDATE**

The above issue seems to have "resolved" itself (somehow).  After discussing the issue with FurryNutz recently, he was able to "manually select a wifi channel" without it reverting back to "AUTO" like in previous troubleshooting back in November.   ;D   The recent troubleshooting attempts were conducted using the Firefox web browser.  If anyone else is experiencing the above described issue(s), please use the Firefox web browser to manually select the desired wifi channels for each of the wifi radios (2.4GHz / Primary 5GHz / Secondary 5GHz).

Hope this helps  ;D (and thanks FurryNutz for helping me out, and potentially other 890L owners).
Logged
My Setup: Cable (200Mbps / 12 Mbps) > Modem (Netgear CM1000) > Router (D-Link DIR-XXXX) > Switch (Netgear Nighthawk S8000 Gaming & Streaming Switch) (HP Pro Curve Switch x2 - J9449-60001)

aka Vigilante

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #39 on: January 04, 2016, 09:56:43 AM »

This maybe an issue in OSX and Safari. I can't remember the exact testing I did at the time however I presume it was in OSX when I reproduced it and I didn't check in Windows. My testing yesterday was in Windows 7x64 using IE11.

At least we have a work around for OSX and Safari.

Users can enable developer mode in Safari then change the User Agent in Safari to FF or something else to see if this changes the behavior for use who like to use Safari browser in OSX. Or use FF.


Yes I can confirm this as disabling SmartWiFi and setting manual channels and selecting Save. After the 30 second timeout, checking the settings again displays AUTO instead of the configured manual channels.

One ISSUE I did uncover, is that when trying to manually select the WI-FI channel in 2.4GHz / Primary 5GHz / Secondary 5GHz, it reboots for 30 seconds and REVERTS back to AUTO.  This issue WAS NOT present in the previous firmware release.  I did reboot the 890L, disabled all but one radio, and still can't get the 890L to save the WI-FI channel I manually select.  Can anyone else confirm this issue?  I'd be interested in hearing back from a few 890L users regarding this issue.

**UPDATE**

The above issue seems to have "resolved" itself (somehow).  After discussing the issue with FurryNutz recently, he was able to "manually select a wifi channel" without it reverting back to "AUTO" like in previous troubleshooting back in November.   ;D   The recent troubleshooting attempts were conducted using the Firefox web browser.  If anyone else is experiencing the above described issue(s), please use the Firefox web browser to manually select the desired wifi channels for each of the wifi radios (2.4GHz / Primary 5GHz / Secondary 5GHz).

Hope this helps  ;D (and thanks FurryNutz for helping me out, and potentially other 890L owners).
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kvedt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #40 on: January 06, 2016, 12:37:27 PM »

Just like what GolfDude reported, Chrome tells me the router is not online and has only 1 client, even though it is actually working fine. Clearing the cache and refreshing the page does nothing. MS Edge (the successor to IE) works fine and shows all of the information correctly. Oddly, I installed it using Chrome and had no problems with the upgrade. Guess one o' them internets tubes or pipes got clogged up in Chrome.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #41 on: January 06, 2016, 12:46:22 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

What version of Chrome are you using?
Does it happen with Opera or FF?

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.

u]Try turning off these features in Chrome:[/u]
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Also...
http://www.ghacks.net/2015/04/15/chrome-42-blocks-java-silverlight-other-plugins-by-default-now/

Just like what GolfDude reported, Chrome tells me the router is not online and has only 1 client, even though it is actually working fine. Clearing the cache and refreshing the page does nothing. MS Edge (the successor to IE) works fine and shows all of the information correctly. Oddly, I installed it using Chrome and had no problems with the upgrade. Guess one o' them internets tubes or pipes got clogged up in Chrome.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #42 on: January 15, 2016, 09:04:20 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Just like what GolfDude reported, Chrome tells me the router is not online and has only 1 client, even though it is actually working fine. Clearing the cache and refreshing the page does nothing. MS Edge (the successor to IE) works fine and shows all of the information correctly. Oddly, I installed it using Chrome and had no problems with the upgrade. Guess one o' them internets tubes or pipes got clogged up in Chrome.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kvedt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #43 on: January 17, 2016, 09:05:41 AM »

Sorry for the delay in replying; had a sudden (and very welcome) rush of client work. Weirdly, it now is working in Chrome. Edge/IE always worked, FF worked, but I don't have Opera installed and forgot to check iOS Safari on my wife's iPad. But the unexplained part is that Chrome didn't work, and now it does. I had not turned off Norton Internet Security and was planning to do that just now, when I discovered there was no problem left to deal with, at least as far as Chrome is concerned. Perhaps NIS did its own heuristic analysis and opened the ports to Chrome. Dunno and don't know how to check anymore.

On the other hand, something new did happen, and I'll report that in a separate post.

Peter
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: BETA Firmware v1.09 Build 08 (BETA Released 11/10/2015)
« Reply #44 on: January 17, 2016, 09:10:17 AM »

Thnaks for the feedback.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5