• July 20, 2018, 09:14:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try  (Read 2662 times)

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« on: November 01, 2015, 07:16:35 PM »

Just got a used DAP-1522 from my company and thought I'd use it as an AP at home.  DAP-1522, Hardware B1, Firmware  2.07 (because I uploaded that successfully.)

To start, I put the switch in AP 5GHz position.  Then I Reset (which I have had to do many times now).  I already connected the DAP-1522 to my existing router with an ethernet cable.  Then I go through the steps to Manually set up the WiFi with WPA2 Personal AES and a passkey.  So far, so good.  Have checked it with one WiFi device.
Next, I go to the Advanced - MAC Address Filter page.  I also go to the MAC filter page on my original router.  I copy and paste each MAC address from my original router into a slot on the DAP-1522 Advanced - MAC Address Filter page.  (I have 14 MAC Addresses in the original router.)  When I Save Settings in the DAP-1522, I am prompted to reboot.  I hit the Reboot Now button, and NOTHING HAPPENS AND MY DAP-1522 BECOMES TOTALLY UNRESPONSIVE.  The DAP-1522 does NOT reset at this point - it's just stuck.  The embedded web pages do not display any more. 
I can only Reset with the paperclip and try again, but no luck.  Have tried many times now.  Have tried adding only one or a few MAC Addresses - no good.  Have also added the MAC address of my original router to the list - no help.

Any ideas?  Thanks.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2015, 07:25:59 PM by glnz »
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2015, 01:25:53 PM »

Update - started to work half way when I added the MAC of the PC I am working from, in addition to my first router.  Then the Save and Reboot completed.  Weird because both my PC and existing router are wired, not wireless.  That is, my existing router is connected by Ethernet cables to each of the DAP-1522 and my existing PC.  Why does the DAP-1522 need MAC Addresses for anything that's on the wired network?
BUT all is NOT good.
Now that I have BOTH WPA2-Personal-AES and MAC Address Filtering, my WiFi test device is NOT getting connected to the DAP-1522.  The DAP-1522 appears in my device's WiFi network list, and of course my device's MAC is in the DAP-1522 MAC Address Filtering list.  But it won't connect.
So, it seems I can have EITHER WPA2-Personal-AES   OR  MAC Address Filtering, but NOT BOTH.
What's the problem here?
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45304
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2015, 01:30:26 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

I recommend only using Mac Filering on the main host router as that should be the main unit to manage and control any mac filtering. Use the DAP as a wireless AP connection point only. Any device connecting to the DAP will get detected by the main host router and depending on what you have set up there, will be allowed connections or not. Let the main host router do all of the managing.

What Mfr and model# is the main host router?
« Last Edit: November 02, 2015, 01:37:16 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2015, 02:51:56 PM »

Furry - thanks for response.

My main router is an Actiontec GT784WNV provided by Verizon for my DSL link, Firmware Version: GT784WN-VZ-1.1.18.  I'm in NYC.

So, when using the DAP-1522 for AP, one does NOT normally do MAC Address Filtering on it?  That's a bit surprising, since there's a screen and a page in the manual for MAC Address Filtering under AP.

To understand your advice, do you mean that if a wireless device connects to the DAP-1522, its throughput will still be MAC Address Filtered in my main router and shut out if it's not a listed device?  I don't know anything about this stuff, and so you may be right on, but it doesn't feel right.  Let's say five WiFi devices are connecting to the DAP-1522.  If there's no MAC Address Filtering by the DAP-1522, then there is some small risk that a stranger can also join and access those five devices (although maybe not the main router or anything connected to it).  Obviously, WPA2-Personal-AES should stop this, but then why have MAC Address Filtering ever?

Thanks.

Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45304
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2015, 03:24:35 PM »

WPA2 and AES is all thats needed. Mac Filtering can be circumvented by changing of a MAC address on the device. Kind of hard to do but can be done. Yes, the main host router will detect the connecting device as it attempts to get an IP address, if the filter is enabled there, then the device won't get a connection.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2015, 04:14:58 PM »

OK, Furry, I get it.
But I still don't understand why the DAP-1522 doesn't work as intended.  Or why I'm the only one noting the issue.
Could it be that my DAP-1522 is simply broken?  After all, I couldn't even Save-Reboot until I added BOTH my main router and my main PC -- both of which are wired and not WiFi -- to the MAC Address Filter list.  Adding my wired PCs was never required for my Actiontec's MAC Address Filtering - only the WiFi devices.
Something seems not right.  But thanks.
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45304
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2015, 04:54:29 PM »

Id turn OFF all mac filtering on the DAP and ISP modem. Ensure that both wireless and wired devices can connect to the DAP and get internet. Both should. Then turn On Mac Filtering on the modem. Only filter devices that are allowed or not allowed. Test one device and see the behavior. Don't add the DAP to the filter.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

glnz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2015, 07:43:22 PM »

Furry - when you write "Don't add the DAP to the filter," you mean don't add the DAP-1522's own MAC to the MAC Address Filter list of my Actiontec?

(Of course, right now the DAP is wired to the Actiontec so I have NOT added the DAP's MAC to the list for the Actiontec.)
Logged
glnz
Various Dell Optiplexes with Win XP Pro SP3 32-bit, Win 7 Pro SP1 64-bit and Win 10 Pro 64-bit.
Firefox with security.  Avast AV Free except Win Defender on the Win 10.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45304
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot do MAC filtering - DAP-1522 hangs if I try
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2015, 06:44:27 AM »

What browser are you using to configure the DAP?

What happens if you disable all MAC filtering on the main host router and set up just one MAC filter on the DAP, say one for a wireless device, deny. Does the wireless device connect and while this is going on, does a wired PC still connect thats not in the filter on the DAP?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting