• October 21, 2020, 12:06:24 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router causing slow internet speeds  (Read 1606 times)

stratejem

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Router causing slow internet speeds
« on: September 17, 2015, 09:28:14 PM »

Hi guys,

This is an A1 router running on 1.08. I have a 1Gbps internet line. When connecting from my PC or a laptop (wired) directly to the modem, speedtests return the expected speed. However, whilst connecting through the router, again wired and with the WAN limits set to 1000 each, speedtests seem to cap out at about just over 500mbps.

Is there a setting that I'm missing? This is with default factory settings, and the only thing I've changed so far is the WAN bandwidth limits, along with WiFi SSID, etc.

Another smaller issue is that the iPhone6+ with it's 802.11ac is supposed to be able to get connections of up to 280mbps. However, standing right next to the router, it seems to cap out at 200mbps. Is there yet another setting that I haven't quite got right?

The router is mounted on a wall, not next to anything else. Gotta say I came back to DLink for sentimental reasons, and I'm a bit disappointed that a top range router doesn't seem to work quite right out of the box.

Thanks lots!  :)

p.s. My PS4 only seems to connect at about 30Mbps over WiFi.

edit: Very odd. Immediately after posting this, I did the tests again. My PC is going at max speed now, and my phone now seems to be capped at 50mbps.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2015, 09:58:16 PM by stratejem »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router causing slow internet speeds
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 07:15:04 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What QoS speeds are currently set in the QoS settings page?
Do you have Smart Connect enabled for the WiFi?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!