• October 21, 2019, 11:38:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: I just installed my new 880L  (Read 4038 times)

Chet1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
I just installed my new 880L
« on: September 07, 2015, 07:27:23 PM »

Hello, I just installed my new 880L and is working pretty well; it is faster than my old 655 router;

At first I had some problems with the initial 1.02 version, but then did the factory reset and moved to 1.04WW firmware which solved most of my issues: I could not connect on a 2.4 ghz N wireless laptop until I disabled Smart Connect and also the 2.4 40mhz channel width (using only 20mhz channel width) ; I also disabled the 20/40 channel coexistence as it did not seem to work for the 2.4 auto 20/40 option.  All my 802.11N devices all work great now on the 2.4 ghz band; also the 5ghz band works great for N and AC devices with no changes (except for disabling the smart connect).

I still have a problem with the QOS ; it worked fine for a while after initial setup ; but a day or two afterward it won't let me save any changes; fortunately I made most of the important ones early.

One more thing:  my Time setting doesn't work under Management ; I am in the Central Time zone (Daylight Saving Enabled)  and I have to set it to Eastern Zone to get the right time set.

Overall router works fine and is an worthwhile improvement, but I think there are still some situations.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2015, 07:40:46 PM by Chet1 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 07:00:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

Did you walk thru the initial set up wizard then go in and set your QoS testings?
We are seeing a similar behavior with the 890L and QoS not being able to configure it.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Is DST enabled for TIME?

Have you loaded v1.05 and tested?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chet1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 09:47:19 AM »

I installed and tested the new firmware 1.05 b02ww and tested;  the same problems as mentioned in first post recurred; I did do the factory reset , etc.
I do not use the smart connect feature; for the QOS set the items up right away ; you may not be able to change them later except if you do a factory reset again.

in addition you should enter something in the QOS upload download speeds; this seems to work fine - but don't set too low a value as it does definitely effect router speed.

Again for me if I set up QOS right away, use the 2.4 ghz 20mhz  (not auto 20/40) channel band (5ghz band works great); and if I set the time to Eastern (which gives me my correct Central time), I am working great.

I did notice that if I set the time manually and then turn the router off for a while the time does not resume again with the correct time but has the time when turn off .,

One thing I am am going to check though is that my Time Warner Cable box has wireless on it; its a Docsis 3 box Motorola SBG6580 and is fast but also sends out a 2.4 ghz wireless signal on Channel 1 which may interfere with my Dlink 2.4 channels. ; I am going to call Time Warner and ask if they can turn off the wireless.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 10:09:39 AM by Chet1 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2015, 11:27:36 AM »

  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Turn OFF All wireless and filter features as well. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.


I installed and tested the new firmware 1.05 b02ww and tested;  the same problems as mentioned in first post recurred; I did do the factory reset , etc.
I do not use the smart connect feature; for the QOS set the items up right away ; you may not be able to change them later except if you do a factory reset again.

in addition you should enter something in the QOS upload download speeds; this seems to work fine - but don't set too low a value as it does definitely effect router speed.

Again for me if I set up QOS right away, use the 2.4 ghz 20mhz  (not auto 20/40) channel band (5ghz band works great); and if I set the time to Eastern (which gives me my correct Central time), I am working great.

I did notice that if I set the time manually and then turn the router off for a while the time does not resume again with the correct time but has the time when turn off .,

One thing I am am going to check though is that my Time Warner Cable box has wireless on it; its a Docsis 3 box Motorola SBG6580 and is fast but also sends out a 2.4 ghz wireless signal on Channel 1 which may interfere with my Dlink 2.4 channels. ; I am going to call Time Warner and ask if they can turn off the wireless.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chet1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2015, 07:44:04 AM »

Hello,  Good News...

My Time Warner Cable modem is(was) bridged, but as I mentioned the wireless was on;  I had Time Warner turn off their 2.4 wireless, and my problems with the Dlink 880L 2.4 wireless as I mentioned previously went away; I have the  802.11n auto 20/40 setting on and it works as I think it should now with no drops and at fast speed. 

However, the QOS still doesn't save changes after the first initial setup day, and Time functions under management still seems off as I have it set to Eastern DST and the correct time shows for Central (where I am) below it (when using the Dlink time  server) .  These to me seem minor issues to me at this time.

Thanks for your help!
« Last Edit: September 16, 2015, 07:48:07 AM by Chet1 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2015, 07:51:14 AM »

Glad to hear about the wireless.

As for QoS, I've made D-Link aware of the problems with QoS and hope to be fixed in next release.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

hydra3333

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2015, 01:56:15 AM »

 :D so do I.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2015, 06:36:25 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

hydra3333

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2015, 04:09:18 PM »

"hope to be fixed in next release" ... so do I  :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2015, 02:17:30 PM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2016, 10:26:12 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chet1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2016, 06:31:37 PM »

I have installed the 1.07 beta and It has fixed the QOS problems I would have where I could not update clients under the QOS feature unless I had just installed firmware; Now I can do it ;

the time now can be set manually and it holds correctly ; however when the router is rebooted it does not remember the time and must be reset.

Also the Dynamic DNS manual feature does not work with "DNSOMATIC" service. I tried  the settings that work with the Dir 655 for Dnsomatic as reported in other forums here. I  use a program "DynSite" mentioned by dnsomatic on their website and it works fine but I would prefer to use the 880 feature if possible.

(Note: in my previous messages I indicated I had a static IP; since then I have switched to DHCP when I bought a new Dlink 301 cable modem so I would not have to pay rental to Time Warner for their cable modem) The 301 cable modem has worked very well I feel and seems to pair well with the 880 speed and performance wise except for the items I mentioned above. The conversion was pretty easy; the 880 picked up the DHCP IP info.  Speed tests indicate the Dlink cable modem outperforms the other cable modem I had. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I just installed my new 880L
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2016, 09:20:46 AM »

Glad the beta works well and that the router works well with D-Links 301 cable modem. Had been curious about that modem for a while. Thank you for posting your experiences with it.  ;)

Not sure if this 3rd party DNS service is supporting with this particular model router. You might phone contact them and ask.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting