• November 23, 2020, 12:11:01 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360  (Read 7225 times)

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« on: October 24, 2015, 08:39:26 AM »

Hey guys,

Let me first say that before posting, I have googled this issue and tried all the solutions offered, to no avail.

I have a DLINK 6850U router, and it's working fine, and I am trying to set up the DAP-1360 as a repeater for the main router.

I have connected my laptop via cable to the DAP-1360, and I tried both the "Internet" as well as the "LAN" ports. I tried then accessing "162.168.0.50" but I just got webpage not available. same happened to http://dlinkap/ or dlinkapp/

I then tried manually setting up my IPv4... I tried a bunch of different settings including 192.168.0.1 192.168.1.1 192.168.0.22 192.168.0.103 192.168.0.50 192.168.0.51 192.168.0.70 192.168.0.49

I tried setting my default gateway to 192.168.0.1 or .1.1 or .0.50, but nothing worked. Subnet mask was always 255.255.255.0

I then tried the same thing over but with 10.0.0.x IP's, I also tried more than 5 - 6 different IPs and defaul gateways with different ranges in numbers. Nothing. I tried resetting the router to factory settings, but it doesn't seem to work... The lights don't change regardless of how long I press the reset button. I also tried turning it off, and pressing the reset button before turning it back on... nothing.

The sticker on the back says that the router is running firmware 1.0.15 and I am from Israel, and that's where the router has been purchased.

I also tried using to different laptops, one using Windows 10 and one using Windows 8. Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2015, 11:01:16 AM »

Just set up a static IP address ON your PC first to 192.168.0.49. Then if you have the LAN cable connected to the LAN port on the DAP, you should be able to get to the DAPs web page at 192.168.0.50 in a web browser.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2015, 11:10:07 AM »

Hey mate,

Thanks for the welcome, as well as your reply! I think that's what I already did. I went to the LAN in the network settings, right click, IPv4 option, and then properties, and I set the local IP address to 192.168.0.49 and set up the default gateway to 192.168.0.50. Still didn't work. Unless I misunderstood you...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2015, 11:50:26 AM »

Set no gateway. Use default sub net mask is all
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2015, 11:51:51 AM »

Also tried that.

Set up the IP address to 192.168.0.49
Subnet Mask to 255.255.255.0
Left Gateway empty, but it still gave the "unable to load page" when trying 192.168.0.50
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2015, 11:58:55 AM »

And was a factory reset performed as well? After the factory reset, it should be able to access the DAPs page.

You might try connecting the DAP to a main host router and see if the DAP gets an IP address from the main host router. Check the connected clients table for the address.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2015, 12:55:10 PM »

Yes, after the factory reset as well. I thought the factory reset didn't work, because I saw no change in the lights while I was pressing the button. However, I just noticed that the name of the connection changed from the custom name it was set to before, to dlink.

So I did what you said, I tried connecting the DAP to the main router (DLINK 6850U) with a cable but I couldn't find any new devices under "DHCP Clients." There I only found my computer and a couple of phones which are connected to the network. I then connected another cable from the DAP, which was connected to the main router, to my computer, and was able to connect to the main router, through the DAP. I had to reconfigure the connection to automatic first for this to work. I still tried changing the IP address to the 192.168.0.49 and then tried accessing the default gateway, to no avail...

Anything else I should try before giving up? :/
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2015, 12:56:54 PM »

Either return the DAP to the place of purchase or Phone contact D-Link support and get help and ask for an RMA. This unit maybe faulty.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2015, 01:07:59 PM »

Ok I managed to figure it out! It was rather quite simple!

I found the little set up guide which came with the DAP... I reset the repeater again, and followed the instructions... I connected to it wirelessly, and then all I had to do was go to http://dlinkap/ and this time it worked! I just followed the onscreen instructions, and now I am connected to it!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2015, 01:09:07 PM »

Glad you got it working. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rudy_eila

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2015, 01:16:54 PM »

Thanks for your help! :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unable to configure (as repeater) or even access DAP-1360
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2015, 01:17:51 PM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!