• October 18, 2019, 02:14:54 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-868L Won't connect to ISP when 2wire 2701HG-G is set to bridge mode  (Read 2170 times)

Snache

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2

OK, sorry if I posted in the wrong area.
I have two routers/modems.
Router/Modem: Bell 2701HG-G (Loaded with QWEST firmware 6.1.5.48.2)
connecting to the internet is perfectly fine using this device in it normal/default state.
Additional Router: DIR-868L
Hardware Version: A1
Firmware Version: 1.10
This device runs fine when acting as a secondary router aside from having an orange light though my wired and wireless devices seems to be operating fine.

When bridging the 2701HG-G it seems to behave like a modem would, Power, Ethernet, and DSL are all solid green. (I also disabled DHCP, wireless, firewall, and deleted ISP data before bridging)
After having the 2701HG-G boot in bridge mode and then connecting my DIR-868L to it then putting in the ISP information; the device doesn't seem to connect to the ISP/Internet at all.

i've tried recycling both devices several times with no luck, I currently have it set up so most of the functions are disabled on the 2701HG-G so the main connecting is the DIR-868L.

Any ideas what the problem could be or something I may have forgotten?
If I can just disable the Port blocking functions on the 2701HG-G so the DIR-868L is the only device to manage those then I would be satisfied with the current setup.

Thanks in advance for any help :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-868L Won't connect to ISP when 2wire 2701HG-G is set to bridge mode
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 01:26:32 PM »

Router:
Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Snache

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-868L Won't connect to ISP when 2wire 2701HG-G is set to bridge mode
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 01:44:24 PM »

New York
Router does have built in router which is why I would prefer Bridging it as well.
Double NAT doesn't seem to be happening as the the local address begins with 74.x.x.x (I know that's my ip address) and the peer address begins with 64.x.x.x. I may be looking at the wrong information though.
currently the modem/router(2701HG-G) is 192.168.0.1
while the router(DIR-868L) is 192.168.1.1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-868L Won't connect to ISP when 2wire 2701HG-G is set to bridge mode
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2015, 01:47:24 PM »

Review the link provided. Your ISP modem does have a router built in. If it can be bridged then look at the link about PPPoE. You may need ISP support help to get heh modem bridged fully.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting