• October 23, 2020, 02:22:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: QoS is garbagio  (Read 7408 times)

killjoytre

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
QoS is garbagio
« on: July 31, 2015, 04:20:56 PM »

I got the Dlink 890L last week and I tried using the QoS. It is just not working. I have my desktop hooked up through ethernet and everything else is on wireless. I put the ethernet connected desktop in highest and everything on medium. Reboot and now im getting 2mbps down. Granted i recently switched to Comcast Business starter from residential, so my down is 18mbps while up is 3. While QoS was on i opened up a few tabs, youtube video just to see if the engine would give me the speed i needed. Nope kept me at 2mbps down consistently. Without QoS im getting the usual 18mbps. However since i have less bandwidth to work with not having QoS creates a problem for a family household.

To be clear this is a problem that i had while on 1.06 and the new 1.07 firmware. This is a real bummer because im actually returning to Dlink. My first router was a dir 655, which my cousin still uses to this day. Previously i owned the Netgear x6 but i let the nostalgia get to me. And the x6 handled qos marvelously. At this point im seriously considering going back to netgear.

Does anyone have any positive experience with QoS on the 890? Is dlink aware of this issue?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2015, 05:06:50 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Are the Speeds to spec if you don't use QoS?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

killjoytre

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2015, 05:40:49 PM »

   H/W Ver: A1
   Firmware 1.07
   America, GA
   Yes
   No

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
   Comcast Business Internet
   Motorola Surfboard SB6141

Yes my internet is 18 down 4 up. I get that when not using QoS. When using QoS I get 2mbps down.
Logged

DoughBoy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 12:39:48 PM »

Have you try setting the limits of your WAN connection under the QoS settings?  That's all I had to do.... see if it works for you.




let us know!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2015, 12:43:05 PM »

Are you seeing this with your router too?  ???

Have you try setting the limits of your WAN connection under the QoS settings?  That's all I had to do.... see if it works for you.




let us know!
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DoughBoy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2015, 12:52:51 PM »

Are you seeing this with your router too?  ???

No, I'm not and I don't want to change it either, just to see if it is happening... (if it ain't broke, don't fix it), but I notice the 2 settings while I was enabling QoS, so I did a few WAN speed test and set the numbers for the upload and download speeds, it has worked fine for me since the first time, I also have Smart Connect enabled in my router, good stuff!
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2015, 01:06:47 PM »

Good to hear. Thanks for posting. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DoughBoy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2015, 01:10:56 PM »

Thank you FurryNutz, I'm enjoying my router, but let see if "killjoytre" can enjoy his also... 

Let us know "killjoytre"
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2015, 01:24:07 PM »

 ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2015, 12:00:09 PM »

Any status on this?

FYI: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63221.0

   H/W Ver: A1
   Firmware 1.07
   America, GA
   Yes
   No

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
   Comcast Business Internet
   Motorola Surfboard SB6141

Yes my internet is 18 down 4 up. I get that when not using QoS. When using QoS I get 2mbps down.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

carpathian

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2015, 09:43:49 PM »

I just bought this router also and having the same exact issues with it. Wi-Fi speed tests are 10 down 5 up but my wired computer on wan port is not getting more then 2 down. What else can I change to make this work, also when I bi-passed the router it was at 10 down and 5 up on my wired connection. Got an a intel(r) pro/1000 gt ethernet adapter. We use high speed wireless internet connection point to point.
Logged

Vigilante

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2015, 11:35:09 PM »

I just bought this router also and having the same exact issues with it. Wi-Fi speed tests are 10 down 5 up but my wired computer on wan port is not getting more then 2 down. What else can I change to make this work, also when I bi-passed the router it was at 10 down and 5 up on my wired connection. Got an a intel(r) pro/1000 gt ethernet adapter. We use high speed wireless internet connection point to point.

I just bought the DIR-890L as well.  I've had the DIR-890L up and running since Friday  ;D  The only issues I've experienced thus far are QoS not SAVING devices, and I'm unable to edit named network devices to my preference.  Both experienced issues aren't problems after initial set up / factory reset, but soon become "non-functional" after the router has been set up / configured.

I find it "interesting" that your internet speeds are poor (less than 2Mbps Down) when running a speed test on your wired computer.  I've ran several DETAILED NETWORK STATISTICS tests using the Xbox One and get speeds very consistent (99.81 Down / 4.88 Up) to my subscribed ISP speeds (100 Down / 5 Up).  My Xbox One is wired directly to the 890L.  I've also ran a few DETAILED NETWORK STATISTICS tests on a second  Xbox One we own (located in a different part of our home) and get the same results.  That Xbox One is wired directly to the DIR-868L which serves as an AP and is wired directly to the DIR-890L.

Tomorrow morning, I'll connect an ethernet cable from the 890L to my iMac and run a speed test.  BTW, I also experienced issues with slow internet speeds after the initial set up of the 890L out of the box.  I wasn't getting speeds any faster than 5Mbps Down.  Unbeknownst to me, I inadvertently put 100 (my download speed)  in the "UPLINK" box and 5 (my upload speed) in the "DOWNLINK" box  :-[  I'm embarrassed to admit that, but maybe my mistake will help others (so use to DOWNLOAD / DOWNLINK being the top box). 

Furry....what is that term / acronym you often labeled me with after some of my other "should've known" issues?   :D

My experiences thus far with the DIR-890L are extremely positive, except for the two above described issues.   I'm very happy with the overall performance and functionality.  With several devices connected to the 890L (currently 30+ devices both wired and wireless - we're a family of 4  ;)), I've experienced NO ISSUES when gaming on two Xbox One consoles (simultaneously), streaming Netflix from two different devices (simultaneously), and browsing the internet on a MacBook Pro / MacBook Air / iMac (including watching YouTube videos).  I've put the DIR-890L to the test, and it hasn't failed me yet!  The DIR-890L is a solid router!!!   ;D

I'll let you know my wired speedtest results (iMac wired directly to 890L) this morning (10/22).  Hopefully we can help you get this figured out  :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2015, 06:59:37 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

Please do a factory reset then walk thru the setup wizard process. Once doen there, go immediately into QoS and input your ISP speed UP and DOWN values. You should be able to configure this here at this time.

There is a known issue of QoS not being able to configure after a period of time, thus a reset is needed and configured immedately after using the setup wizard.

D-Link is aware and is working on.


I just bought this router also and having the same exact issues with it. Wi-Fi speed tests are 10 down 5 up but my wired computer on wan port is not getting more then 2 down. What else can I change to make this work, also when I bi-passed the router it was at 10 down and 5 up on my wired connection. Got an a intel(r) pro/1000 gt ethernet adapter. We use high speed wireless internet connection point to point.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Vigilante

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2015, 08:40:18 AM »

I just bought this router also and having the same exact issues with it. Wi-Fi speed tests are 10 down 5 up but my wired computer on wan port is not getting more then 2 down. What else can I change to make this work, also when I bi-passed the router it was at 10 down and 5 up on my wired connection. Got an a intel(r) pro/1000 gt ethernet adapter. We use high speed wireless internet connection point to point.

I'll let you know my wired speedtest results (iMac wired directly to 890L) this morning (10/22).  Hopefully we can help you get this figured out  :)

iMac wired directly to DIR-890L  ;D


^^What's a guy gotta do to get an 'A' [Grade]?^^  ::)

I'd concur with Furry, perform a factory reset and enter UPLINK / DOWNLINK values right away and SAVE.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS is garbagio
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2015, 08:46:44 AM »

What grade rating do you get if you run the same speeds with the the PC direct to the ISP modem?
What Mfr and model is the ISP modem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2