• July 23, 2019, 11:16:17 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken  (Read 4959 times)

TonyJZX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« on: June 18, 2015, 12:06:57 AM »

I have a DIR865L 1.07 that runs well as an AP. I bought a 2nd 865L as a bridge.

I was surprised at the funny way it works vis a vis 192.168.0.50 and the speeds are good.

But the only way I can get it to work reliably is to NOT connect any devices to the 865 AP except the 2nd 865 bridge.

It seems it can only handle traffic one way, ie, 865 to 865 or it has odd performance issues.

I have another non Dlink 11ac AP hooked up and it works fine.

Sooo... it sounds like the 865 has some kind of odd routing issue... it cant maintain full speed to the client if it is also trying to maintain speed to the 865 bridge at the same time.

If the bridge is up and the client is fed from another AP then all is fine in the world.
Logged

TonyJZX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 12:16:58 AM »

further to this, the bridge is 5 ghz

clients are all 5ghz, i dont find 2.4 performance all that great on the 865 but id didnt buy it for that

dont get me wrong, the 865 is a fine performer especially since its 1st gen

i think it should have enough CPU and mem to be able to do this so i'm guessing this is some odd bug

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 07:44:37 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Are both 865Ls running the same FW versions?
  • What region are you located?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

So to get this right, your saying that if you use one 865L as the main host router and AP and you connect the 2nd 865L in bridge mode to the 1st 865L, and you have other WiFi devices connected to the 1st main 865L on 5Ghz, the 2nd 865L in bridge mode does not work and fails? Please give more details on what the 2nd 865L is experiencing when this happens?

Wireless Configurations
  • What wireless modes are you using on the 1st 865L?
  • What channel are you using on the 1st 865L?
  • What security mode are you using on the 1st 865L?

What is the distance between the main 865L and the bridged 865L?

I have a 865L running in brige mode now and it has been working great as a bridge. I don't have a 2nd 865L to test with though.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2015, 08:51:27 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

further to this, the bridge is 5 ghz

clients are all 5ghz, i dont find 2.4 performance all that great on the 865 but id didnt buy it for that

dont get me wrong, the 865 is a fine performer especially since its 1st gen

i think it should have enough CPU and mem to be able to do this so i'm guessing this is some odd bug
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

TonyJZX

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2015, 05:20:52 PM »

sorry i didnt get back as i only set this up as a test

i have a bad habit in that i collect wireless devices (i'm in the industry) so I play with cisco APs and ubiquiti's and whatever

both my 865s are 1.07

my 1st AP is old and it was always upgraded but never reset, 2nd ap is new and was flashed to 1.07 and set as a bridge

i do not use it as a router only an AP, I have a Cisco 877

i always use wpa2 psk ccmp on ch161

distance is maybe 25 meters

as i said, if i'm on the cisco 3502 and i run a transfer from 865 -> 865 its fine

if i'm on the 1st 865, the performance is poor, i'm ok with this... i have a few high performance APs on the network
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2015, 05:27:32 PM »

Is there any building materials between the 865s? Or direct line of site?
What wireless modes are you using to connect the two ? 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz?


What is the performance like at 6 meters? 25 is a pretty good distance. How are the units pointed at each other?

It's recommended to factory reset the router after a FW update and set up from scratch.

The 865 was the 1st generation AC router and AC wireless. Not sure if it can compete with newer wireless radios. Getting a bit old now.  ::)



Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47585
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR865L bridging is subtly broken
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2015, 11:37:03 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

sorry i didnt get back as i only set this up as a test

i have a bad habit in that i collect wireless devices (i'm in the industry) so I play with cisco APs and ubiquiti's and whatever

both my 865s are 1.07

my 1st AP is old and it was always upgraded but never reset, 2nd ap is new and was flashed to 1.07 and set as a bridge

i do not use it as a router only an AP, I have a Cisco 877

i always use wpa2 psk ccmp on ch161

distance is maybe 25 meters

as i said, if i'm on the cisco 3502 and i run a transfer from 865 -> 865 its fine

if i'm on the 1st 865, the performance is poor, i'm ok with this... i have a few high performance APs on the network
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting