• November 27, 2020, 06:10:50 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DHCP stopped working on DIR-890L when I started using static addresses  (Read 11923 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Items like sensors, cameras range extenders and such do not need a reservation. The use of Static IPs should be used for non-essential devices.
The use of Mac Filters for those devices isn't relly recommended either. The user of Mac Filtering can be spoofed anyways. I've personally never had the need for Mac Filtering unless I'm testing something.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

morber

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21

Thanks - guess it's time for me to be less paranoid.

Still would like to see a list of active devices and inactive devices - those gui icons for clients are way too big.  Could be 4 across by getting rid of white space - and reduce height so you're not scrolling forever looking for a device. By the time you find it and if you want to edit it, you are timed out already.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

You can see what is active and inactive by looking at the color of the icons. If the test is blue, then it's active, if the text is gray, then it's inactive. The grayed out icon should remain in the list as this fixed the issue with reserved devices and not being able to delete them when the device was not longer connected.

Ya the icons seem a bit large however this maybe due to readability for some users. The old ui was a bit small.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 11:27:37 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

howlie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Maybe I'm blind but I updated to 1.06 FW and can't find static dhcp anywhere in web interface. I can't use router as anything but ap until I can.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?

There is no such thing as static DHCP. There is Dynamic DHCP and Reservations for IP addresses and Static IP address for Internet ISP connections.

Are you referring to LAN side or WAN side static IP addressing?  ???

Maybe I'm blind but I updated to 1.06 FW and can't find static dhcp anywhere in web interface. I can't use router as anything but ap until I can.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

howlie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Sorry. Convenient shorthand for dhcp reservation.
  • What region are you located?
North America (Massachusetts)
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Both - wired to use web interface

Internet Service Provider and Modem ConfigurationsComcast cable modem
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Ubee COM3513
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
Dynamic

There is no such thing as static DHCP. There is Dynamic DHCP and Reservations for IP addresses and Static IP address for Internet ISP connections.

Are you referring to LAN side or WAN side static IP addressing?  ???LAN side. I can't find where dhcp reservations are set. I.E. The add button mentioned above.

Maybe I'm blind but I updated to 1.06 FW and can't find static dhcp anywhere in web interface. I can't use router as anything but ap until I can.
[/quote]
Logged

howlie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Never mind. I found what I needed. Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP stopped working on DIR-890L when I started using static addresses
« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2015, 07:25:44 PM »

New beta code. Should fix this. Working great for me:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=63787.0
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 [2]