• November 15, 2019, 05:23:02 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.  (Read 9072 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2015, 07:43:44 AM »

Ok i'll set again and see what I find. Your ISP speeds are double of mine so there maybe some QoS head room however loss should be to much. I'll ask D-Link about this.

Also, the same router I connected yesterday that was tested at a different location shows similar results of a 4-6Mb. This maybe QoS overhead that D-Link reserves:
DIR-880L 50/25 51.68M Down 22.43M Up
DIR-880L 100/50 97.62M Down 48.50M Up
DIR-880L 200/100 194.05M Down 96.69M Up

There testing on a DIR-860L and a DGL-5500 had similar results.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 01:24:40 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2015, 05:09:08 PM »

Ok, this is my Mac Book Pro 2007 OSX 10.10.2 on 5Ghz with a reserved IP address on the router and set into QoS on Highest priority and 2 Windows 7 PCs in High priority section:


Test on 2.4Ghz:


I pay for 50/3 connected to a Motorola SB 6180 cable modem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

PK_Tech_Boy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2015, 02:04:33 AM »

Thanks, please let me know if D-Link comes back with anything.  It's more of a curiosity, the only TV we stream with is hardwired into the router, with sources coming from a Blu-ray player that is also hard wired (using Amazon Prime).  The other source is either dlna from my laptop (wireless) or a usb flash drive plugged into the TV.  Can run the dlna off the router usb 3.0 port, tested a WD Passport Ultra metal 2TB and an older 64GB usb 2.0 flash drive so far.  Looks like the Passport was causing interference on 2.4Ghz, flash drive was better.  Having a PNY 128GB usb 3.0 flash drive I got for $22 delivered next week and see how that works. 

I'm the only power user in the family, but there is enough bandwidth for all three laptops, so I don't really see a need for using QoS. 

It would be interesting if D-Link has some information, seems like that one amazon reviewer ran into the same behavior and D-Link recognized it.

It's a vast improvement over our last router and I was able to get it for just under $80 from Dell using a promotional coupon, so I'm not sweating the QoS behavior.  If there is a tweak great.  If it's a algorithm based on download speeds and connected devices, and is normal, that's fine too.   Just looking for a stable router to last years.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2015, 02:07:09 AM by PK_Tech_Boy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2015, 07:04:45 AM »

I asked D-link if there was any issues with QoS yesterday and they said nothing at this time. I presume the NA region FW is stable at this time. I asked due to other regions seeing the router reboot when Apple devices are placed in QoS. I tested this out yesterday to see if mine would do the same and test the speeds while on Wifi so I could report on your findings. So far, my router seems to be working well. I have a 868L and a Asus EA-66N bridged to the 5Ghz radio. One Joey is connected to the 868L upstairs and a 2nd Joey is connected to the Asus in the bedroom. They stream DISH services for me. Those haven't been placed in QoS. Theres only two people in my house so while one works from home, I'm away at work. At most the router sees busy times after work and when streaming movies with my boxee or when the Joeys are going. General traffic and VPN during the day time. I game after the other one goes to bed.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ralusicris

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2015, 01:23:50 AM »

maybe macbook pro 2007 doesn`t have wifi ac and this could be a good reason not to crash the router. https://support.apple.com/kb/SP13?locale=en_US
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No crashes or reboots, just a lower speed.
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2015, 07:05:06 AM »

I also have this as well:
https://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/

I also have a AC (DWA-180) adapter connected to the MBP 2007

Also as I mentioned before I have 2 other AC bridges connected to the 880L.

I have forwarded your post to the regional contact for your area. You'll need to phone contact them for further information and help or wait till the next FW update for your region becomes available.

maybe macbook pro 2007 doesn`t have wifi ac and this could be a good reason not to crash the router. https://support.apple.com/kb/SP13?locale=en_US
« Last Edit: April 07, 2015, 07:17:41 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]