• October 19, 2019, 11:47:50 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Network devices disappear in Windows7  (Read 8910 times)

rotohead

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2015, 09:56:25 AM »

Here's another bug in this fw. I've restarted the fw from the beginning (1.0) and then flashed to ver 1.02. After 1.02 I ask it to check for a new fw (which I know exists 1.03) it says I already have the newest firmware. The only way to flash 1.03 is to do it manually. That's not right for a router intended for simplified home installs, if that's dlinks goal. Shouldn't need to configure static ip's either.
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2015, 12:53:17 PM »

Rotohead,

FurryNutz has some GREAT advice in regards to static IP addressing OUTSIDE your DHCP range.

1) Open Router GUI
2) Identify your DHCP range, example  192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199
3) Your NAS box, configure it to .....  192.168.0.201
4) reconnect NAS box to network and see if it comes up in your Win7
5) Go back into 890 GUI and see if your nas box shows up as 192.168.0.201, Click on the upper right hand side pencil and RESERVE that IP for the NAS.
Report back let us know.

BTW what NAS box are you using..Model and model #

Logged

rotohead

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2015, 01:41:48 PM »

After letting this 890 run this morning it finally died. Had to put my old Netgear unit back in. The reset button does nothing, only a blinking orange light. I'm done.
Logged

rotohead

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2015, 02:26:38 PM »

Rotohead,

FurryNutz has some GREAT advice in regards to static IP addressing OUTSIDE your DHCP range.

1) Open Router GUI
2) Identify your DHCP range, example  192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199
3) Your NAS box, configure it to .....  192.168.0.201
4) reconnect NAS box to network and see if it comes up in your Win7
5) Go back into 890 GUI and see if your nas box shows up as 192.168.0.201, Click on the upper right hand side pencil and RESERVE that IP for the NAS.
Report back let us know.

BTW what NAS box are you using..Model and model #

It is a Synology Diskstation DS411 and has always worked flawlessly in all my setups.
It doesn't matter much now that the 890 died but for future how am I suppose to assign a static ip to a device that doesn't show in windows? I've asked that and no one has an answer. I understand the logic and have done static addresses in the past but DHCP is suppose to handle this. I wish the 890 would've worked properly. It did run well for a number of days then the disappearing devices started happening. I loved the range and great 11ac network for iPhone use. The UI is lacking and for the money it needs  a more robust integration with windows.
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2015, 04:27:01 PM »

Rotohead,

FurryNutz has some GREAT advice in regards to static IP addressing OUTSIDE your DHCP range.

1) Open Router GUI
2) Identify your DHCP range, example  192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199
3) Your NAS box, configure it to .....  192.168.0.201
4) reconnect NAS box to network and see if it comes up in your Win7
5) Go back into 890 GUI and see if your nas box shows up as 192.168.0.201, Click on the upper right hand side pencil and RESERVE that IP for the NAS.
Report back let us know.

BTW what NAS box are you using..Model and model #

It is a Synology Diskstation DS411 and has always worked flawlessly in all my setups.
It doesn't matter much now that the 890 died but for future how am I suppose to assign a static ip to a device that doesn't show in windows? I've asked that and no one has an answer. I understand the logic and have done static addresses in the past but DHCP is suppose to handle this. I wish the 890 would've worked properly. It did run well for a number of days then the disappearing devices started happening. I loved the range and great 11ac network for iPhone use. The UI is lacking and for the money it needs  a more robust integration with windows.

Return the dead unit, may have been malfunctioning all along and get yourself a new one and try again. Read the article below and see if this will help in assigning a static IP on the NAS.

https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/UserGuide/DSM/5.1/Syno_UsersGuide_NAServer_enu.pdf

Goto page 14
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2015, 07:00:10 AM »

Ya you may have had a bad unit. Please give another 890L a try.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2015, 07:34:02 AM »

Lex, does your 890L display networking devices correctly for you?  ???

Rotohead,

FurryNutz has some GREAT advice in regards to static IP addressing OUTSIDE your DHCP range.

1) Open Router GUI
2) Identify your DHCP range, example  192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199
3) Your NAS box, configure it to .....  192.168.0.201
4) reconnect NAS box to network and see if it comes up in your Win7
5) Go back into 890 GUI and see if your nas box shows up as 192.168.0.201, Click on the upper right hand side pencil and RESERVE that IP for the NAS.
Report back let us know.

BTW what NAS box are you using..Model and model #

It is a Synology Diskstation DS411 and has always worked flawlessly in all my setups.
It doesn't matter much now that the 890 died but for future how am I suppose to assign a static ip to a device that doesn't show in windows? I've asked that and no one has an answer. I understand the logic and have done static addresses in the past but DHCP is suppose to handle this. I wish the 890 would've worked properly. It did run well for a number of days then the disappearing devices started happening. I loved the range and great 11ac network for iPhone use. The UI is lacking and for the money it needs  a more robust integration with windows.

Return the dead unit, may have been malfunctioning all along and get yourself a new one and try again. Read the article below and see if this will help in assigning a static IP on the NAS.

https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/UserGuide/DSM/5.1/Syno_UsersGuide_NAServer_enu.pdf

Goto page 14
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2015, 05:31:44 PM »

Lex, does your 890L display networking devices correctly for you?  ???

Rotohead,

FurryNutz has some GREAT advice in regards to static IP addressing OUTSIDE your DHCP range.

1) Open Router GUI
2) Identify your DHCP range, example  192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199
3) Your NAS box, configure it to .....  192.168.0.201
4) reconnect NAS box to network and see if it comes up in your Win7
5) Go back into 890 GUI and see if your nas box shows up as 192.168.0.201, Click on the upper right hand side pencil and RESERVE that IP for the NAS.
Report back let us know.

BTW what NAS box are you using..Model and model #

It is a Synology Diskstation DS411 and has always worked flawlessly in all my setups.
It doesn't matter much now that the 890 died but for future how am I suppose to assign a static ip to a device that doesn't show in windows? I've asked that and no one has an answer. I understand the logic and have done static addresses in the past but DHCP is suppose to handle this. I wish the 890 would've worked properly. It did run well for a number of days then the disappearing devices started happening. I loved the range and great 11ac network for iPhone use. The UI is lacking and for the money it needs  a more robust integration with windows.

Return the dead unit, may have been malfunctioning all along and get yourself a new one and try again. Read the article below and see if this will help in assigning a static IP on the NAS.

https://global.download.synology.com/download/Document/UserGuide/DSM/5.1/Syno_UsersGuide_NAServer_enu.pdf

Goto page 14

Furry,
Yes ALL of my network devices show up, either wired or wireless. I renamed the ones that said Unknown devices to the proper name and all is good. In my network ALL of my clients have STATIC IP addresses, so I have no client conflict when they connect to router....in my opinion it is the best way.

I would like for DLink to add into the next FW build:
1) See which wireless clients are connected to 2.4/5ghz(1)/5ghz(2).
2) The impossible...bring back the old DLINK GUI, with a granular, in depth config for us.
3) Bridge mode function!!!!!!!!!!

I have said this in other posts, but when we pay $300 for a prosumer grade router, why would you skimp on a indepth config pages. Surely your average Joe consumer is NOT going to spend $300 on a router, there going for the cheap-get-me-on-by models, for which I can understand a SIMPLIFIED GUI.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2015, 05:40:43 PM by Lexist2112 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #23 on: March 10, 2015, 07:09:16 AM »

Post your requests in the features and requests thread.

The old UI will not be coming back as far as I know FYI.

Quote
Furry,
Yes ALL of my network devices show up, either wired or wireless. I renamed the ones that said Unknown devices to the proper name and all is good. In my network ALL of my clients have STATIC IP addresses, so I have no client conflict when they connect to router....in my opinion it is the best way.

I would like for DLink to add into the next FW build:
1) See which wireless clients are connected to 2.4/5ghz(1)/5ghz(2).
2) The impossible...bring back the old DLINK GUI, with a granular, in depth config for us.
3) Bridge mode function!!!!!!!!!!

I have said this in other posts, but when we pay $300 for a prosumer grade router, why would you skimp on a indepth config pages. Surely your average Joe consumer is NOT going to spend $300 on a router, there going for the cheap-get-me-on-by models, for which I can understand a SIMPLIFIED GUI.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2015, 09:55:50 AM »

Well, then I hope there working a more complete GUI, with useability. If not........waiting for DDWRT ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network devices disappear in Windows7
« Reply #25 on: March 10, 2015, 11:43:18 AM »

 ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]