• December 12, 2019, 03:51:22 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Roaming Access Points  (Read 6828 times)

goguda

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Roaming Access Points
« on: March 02, 2015, 04:58:29 PM »

Hey guys,

So after a very frustrating call with D-Link's Indian Canadian call centre, I thought I'd try here.

I just purchased both the DIR-850L (REV. A with 1.07 firmware. I've tried upgrading and downgrading the firmware with no luck fixing the problem I'm about to explain) and the DAP-1650 (REV. A with 1.02 firmware. Same thing as the router). My intention is to use the DIR as my main router and the DAP to extend the wireless signal to an area of my house where the original wifi signal from the DIR was lacking. I have a wired network run throughout my house, and I have put the DAP at the end of the house where the signal was bad. I have configured both the router and the access point with the same SSID, security, and nonoverlapping wireless channels. My goal is to be able to roam from one access point to the other with my devices depending on which signal is stronger. I have done this before with other Linksys equipment and it worked great. I know it can be done, despite what the tech support guy was telling me.

The problem I'm having is roaming back from the DIR after being connected to the DAP. Connecting to the DAP from the DIR when I get closer to the DAP works flawlessly, and the connection maintains stable. Moving back from the DAP to the DIR, however, almost all of the internet drops. It says it is connected, but nothing loads. Very, very, few webpages will load (in fact, my guess is the only reason that the ones (we're talking maybe one of my websites in my favourites bar) that load do load is because they are stored in cache on my computer or something). If I roam back to the DAP, again, the connection works flawlessly. No issues. Roam back to the DIR, and the connection doesn't work again.

If I start out on the DIR, the internet works great. Roam to the DAP, it works great. Roam back to the DIR, it stops. Roam to the DAP, it works. Roam to the DIR again, it stops. The only way to get it working on the DIR again is if I leave the device disconnected from the network for quite a while (half an hour) or to restart the DIR. Then, when I'm connected to the DIR at first, it works flawlessly. Move away to the DAP and back to the DIR again, and the problem comes back.

Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong? This problem has been driving me insane. Any input is appreciated. Thanks!!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 05:10:46 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process

What is the distance between the DIR and the DAP?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz. Place main host router on 11 and DAP on channel 1.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences on the 850L?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials


Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

maple_leafs_67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2015, 02:58:36 PM »

Hi goguda

I think I may be seeing the same issue with my set up. See my post from last week here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

I will continue to fiddle with settings and I'll let you know if I make progress.

Cheers
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2015, 07:39:30 AM »

Any status on this? Please provide feedback to the questions and try the suggestions to your post:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

Hi goguda

I think I may be seeing the same issue with my set up. See my post from last week here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

I will continue to fiddle with settings and I'll let you know if I make progress.

Cheers
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

goguda

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2015, 10:12:38 AM »

Any status on this? Please provide feedback to the questions and try the suggestions to your post:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

Hi goguda

I think I may be seeing the same issue with my set up. See my post from last week here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

I will continue to fiddle with settings and I'll let you know if I make progress.

Cheers

Still having the problem, even after playing around with the settings. It is the exact same problem maple_leafs_67 is having; I think it's a problem with the router itself. Very strange.

It also only seems to happen on my iPhone. My Macbook can roam just fine...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2015, 11:20:59 AM »

Please provide feedback to the questions and suggestions presented so we can get a better idea of what you have going on there.

Seems like if one device is working, possible problem could be with the other devices and not the router. Roaming is a device handled process, not by the router. Devices are designed and setup to find the best signal and connect to it, and if your roaming to another signal, it's the devices design and handling that will decide to change signals, not the routers.

What iOS is loaded on the iPhone and OSX version on the Mac Book?

Any status on this? Please provide feedback to the questions and try the suggestions to your post:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

Hi goguda

I think I may be seeing the same issue with my set up. See my post from last week here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=83332

I will continue to fiddle with settings and I'll let you know if I make progress.

Cheers

Still having the problem, even after playing around with the settings. It is the exact same problem maple_leafs_67 is having; I think it's a problem with the router itself. Very strange.

It also only seems to happen on my iPhone. My Macbook can roam just fine...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

goguda

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2015, 03:19:01 PM »

The iPhone is running iOS 8.2 and my MacBook is running OS X 10.10.2. I just find it strange that I've never had this problem with other routers, even with the same iPhone...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Roaming Access Points
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2015, 07:05:12 PM »

Kind of hard to help you if you don't give some feed back to the questions presented...  ::) It may have worked at some point and maybe updates with your devcies have changed the behavior.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting