• October 19, 2020, 11:55:01 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: [SOLVED] DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???  (Read 7528 times)

ekardon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

Hi,

I have DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) modem, that I bought from Italy. I have been there for few months, however I am in a different country now. I configured the router, however it gives me less speed that it should. I searched little bit and found this and this but they are in italian, I didn't get much. As far as I understand, there are newer firmware updates for my router, however mine is restricted to WIND firmware. My FW version is DSL-2640B_1.00_WI_20110414.

I would like to know if there is a way to unlock my router and upgrade the firmware, because it gives trouble as it is. Please somebody help.
Thanks.

ekardon
« Last Edit: March 18, 2015, 01:51:52 PM by ekardon »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2015, 01:39:22 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your ISP support office and ask for help and information regarding this. If this unit was provided by the ISP, then it may have there own FW and support features which will need to be addressed directly with the ISP since it's there HW. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ekardon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
[SOLUTION!!!]
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 01:25:42 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact your ISP support office and ask for help and information regarding this. If this unit was provided by the ISP, then it may have there own FW and support features which will need to be addressed directly with the ISP since it's there HW. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.

Thanks for your answer FurryNutz, but I think I was not clear enough. There is no meaning for me to contact to ISP support, I guess. There are two reasons for this. First is that I live in Turkey, and I got modem from an Italian ISP, called Wind. They have no support other than Italian, and out of Italy. Italian people does not care about non-italian speakers at all, I had lots of trouble in a bank in Italy. Second is that I have to call Italy? That would be just waste of money. Plus, I do not think this is a problem with ISP. I just need to know the proper way to update the firmware.

You may ask why I did not contacted D-Link in my country. Well, the answer is that there were just ditrubitor in my country and Support link sent me here. Also, I couldn't find an e-mail to contact to D-Link directly. If anybody knows, please tell me just in case.

[SOLUTION]

I have solved my problem. I was able to update my firmware in Recovery Mode. I followed the steps in this link. The firmware files from here.

Note: Make sure to UNZIP .bin files. I did not unzip the .bin file at first, I choose it from inside of the .zip file, and the modem got bricked. At least, I think it bricked, because I was unable to access to modem ui, and recovery mode. Basicly, it was useless. I was able to get into recovery mode, but the interface wouldn't open. I followed th steps in this link with original Wind firmware. To enable tftp command, I followed these steps. After this, I got an error "Timeout occured. Conenct request failed." I repeated 3 times before I was able to access Recover Mode UI. After that I was able to update my UI to latest version via Recovery Mode.

If you have any questions about it, I will try to help. All corrections and extra information is appreciated.
Thanks.

ekardon
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 01:39:42 PM »

Some ISP Services given to there customers are responsible for support and help since some ISP develop there own FW and placed on D-Link branded modems. If yours was given to you by your ISP then they need to be contacted and not D-Link. If you replace the FW on there modem HW, be advised that you may violate ISP use policies when using  there modem HW. This is why they need to be contacted. If you have ISP modem that is D-Link branded, it maybe better to purchase a retail unit from your region so you an get official support and help with a retail unit. If this is a retail unit then D-Link should be contacted for any future help and information:
http://www.dlink.com.tr/tr/contacts/

Sounds like you got it working.

Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ekardon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2015, 01:50:00 PM »

There was not any update from that ISP, and they don't give these modems anymore, only newer versions. I am using it with another ISP Service, so does that still count as a violation? Plus, modem is branded D-Link, Wind was just giving off.

Thank you for the link, but as you can see there is no e-mail, and this modem doesn't exist here :D
And, YES, I managed :) It works great now.

Good Work.

ekardon
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2015, 01:54:52 PM »

IF the Wind had there FW on it then I presume the modem belongs to them unless they explicitly told you that you could have the modem or you bought it from them.

Yes, many ISP services use D-Link HW however put there own FW on it. When that happens, it's there responsibility to support and handle customer problems.

If the current ISP service allows this modem model on there system then you good to go.

There maybe only phone support services with the Turkish site which phone support is preferred...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ekardon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [SOLVED] DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2015, 02:07:14 PM »

It was free of charge, I guess it is as you said. However, I have no problem with my current ISP service, it seems I am good to go :)

Thank you for all your quick and informative answers.
Keep Up the Good Work :)

ekardon
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: [SOLVED] DSL-2640B rev. E1 WIND (Infostrada) firmware update help???
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2015, 02:16:51 PM »

Thank you for sharing your experiences and hope it helps future users.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!