• November 22, 2019, 11:51:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?  (Read 4633 times)

zzq4343

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« on: February 18, 2015, 01:59:04 PM »

Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
How about B1 firmware on A1 HW?
Do A1 and B1 share the same hardware?

If I can't flash A1 on B1 HW, is it possible to replace B1 HW with A1 for free?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 08:11:36 AM »

No it's not. The FWs and HW Revs are not compatible.

What region are you located?

I recommend phone contacting your regional D-Link support office to inquire about any exchanges.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zzq4343

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 01:34:38 PM »

I'm in Canada
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2015, 01:52:17 PM »

Let us know if you decide to contact D-Link and what they say. Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zzq4343

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2015, 04:40:22 PM »

I contacted the live support, they just say they can't change the hardware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2015, 05:23:59 PM »

Sorry about that.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zzq4343

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2015, 06:50:29 PM »

The email reply:
We will not be able to offer an exchange for the DIR-868L from the Rev B to Rev A. We have replaced the DIR-868L Rev. A in Canada, and we will not be able to offer any replacement stock with the older version. The features added in the recent firmware upgrade to the Rev A are not advertised on the Rev B box. We have passed your comments to our Product Management team, and they working on possibly adding the Bridge mode feature to the Rev.B at this time.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2015, 07:20:42 AM »

Hopefully they will add bridge mode to the Rev B.

You might see about maybe getting a Rev A from Amazon or Flebay if your wanting something sooner. Could sell the Rev B or keep it as a 2ndary router or back up.

Good Luck
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

dbiondi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2015, 07:47:50 AM »

I got the same problem... i need to set up VLAN but DIR-868L doesn't support this configuration. My router is B1 HW version, but i have seen the A1 HW support VLAN configuration. Is it true? I'm from Brazil.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2015, 08:05:54 AM »

Link>Welcome!

I don't see Rev B listed for your region. I do see Rev A FW list however:
http://www.dlink.com.br/produto/dir-868l

VLANS are not supported on most home routers. Some routers support VPN. The 868L doesn't support either of these I believe. VPN as a pass thru is supported.

I got the same problem... i need to set up VLAN but DIR-868L doesn't support this configuration. My router is B1 HW version, but i have seen the A1 HW support VLAN configuration. Is it true? I'm from Brazil.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is it possible to flash A1 firmware on B1 HW?
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2015, 10:50:54 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

I got the same problem... i need to set up VLAN but DIR-868L doesn't support this configuration. My router is B1 HW version, but i have seen the A1 HW support VLAN configuration. Is it true? I'm from Brazil.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting