• September 17, 2019, 07:20:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS  (Read 3296 times)

hammerite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« on: February 11, 2015, 03:19:45 PM »

The Menus on the DIR-890L are too oversimplified.

I prefer the more advanced administration like the DIR-655. Granularity is key, I understand that this is a "home" class router, but that's not why I purchased it, we need the option of switching to something more than what we got.

System logging locally is a good idea as well, no idea why that was eliminated.
DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS-2205/DGS-1024a so all clients must use Static IP's, might want to fix that pretty quickly, as NAS devices which rely on IP can be difficult to get to without one.



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2015, 06:59:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

If you remove the DGS switches and directly connect wired devices to the router, do they get a Dynamic IP address. The only issue i saw with I got my 890L was my Xbox consoles would not get any IP address, wired or wireless from the router. All of my other devices including ones connected to 2 different switches got IP addresses.

Check cable between Modem,Router, switches and wired PCs, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

hammerite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2015, 07:20:12 AM »

FW 1.02 is installed, NA region.

Changed default SSID, changed default IP & subnet to a 10.x.x.x, same as I would have done with the previous router which had 0 issues.
Direct connect or with the switches, DHCP doesn't work, random disconnects.
All cables are new cat-6.
If I shut everything down and swap my dir-655 back in place, everything is fine, no problems, DHCP works perfectly.
One of my biggest issues right now is I have a femtocel adapter which requires DHCP to work, I cannot set a static IP on it as it's not manually configurable. So no mobile phones are working in my home. I opened a case with D-Link yesterday but haven't heard anything.

The 1.00 firmware was updated to resolve the router randomly rebooting/disconnecting & to try to resolve these issues, but they remain unresolved.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2015, 07:25:38 AM »

I recommend factory resetting and using default DHCP IP address of 192.168.0 range and test...

Where did you get v1.02 from? Support? Just curious.

If that still fails then I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2015, 07:30:02 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

hammerite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2015, 09:39:46 AM »

I got it from the support site, I called Support last night and they opened a case, the rep said they knew about the router not supporting DHCP on switches and would be investigating it, but I only found out about no DHCP at all last night. To be frank, this thing is flaky, I'm a bit surprised really, I love dlink stuff.

If I perform a factory reset, I'll interrupt my other network which is why this thing needs to have its own separate network space. If it does work, then I would assume it's probably something to do with the firmware image not having proper rulesets configured in the default iptables or it's unable to update them with the new IP space.

They really should give us the option to fully configure these things, and include ssh to the console of the silly thing, you know like when you first set it up have a check box that says "want the full configuration or the simplified one". If I had access to it, I could probably resolve whatever the issue probably is.
Logged

hammerite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2015, 07:43:22 PM »

Got with D-Link support again this evening, though this time I was sent to tier 3 support & AR004627 helped me out, problem resolved.

Someone previously said that the router could not have a LAN IP on a similarly appearing WAN IP, this is far from the case. As long as the subnet is different then it's fine, matter of fact say your WAN IP is 10.1.1.21/255.255.255.0, your routers LAN IP could be 10.2.1.21/255.255.255.0 if you wanted it to be.
It could even be further segmented and be in the same IP space as long as the netmask is correct.
255.255.255.224
255.255.255.240
So to say that the router cannot be in this IP space is technically incorrect & misleading, but I understood why they'd say it, most people using this equipment have the technical IQ of a celery stalk and are just looking for low lag time & a high Gamerscore.  ::)

Anyway,
When I setup my network with the DIR-655 the LAN IP was not part of the DHCP range but resided in the same subnet and it worked fine
For example it was 10.1.1.2 and the DHCP Range was 10.1.1.12-10.1.1.254 so I assumed the same for this router.
Well nope, evidently the router actually follows RFC-2131 & must be within the range for DHCP to work., so this was a mistake on my part and I own that. I felt a little stupid not bothering to try that.  ???

If anyone has any questions, I'll be monitoring this router for the next few weeks, it's got a ton of responsibilities right now. Loads of wireless devices, servers, storage, other wireless networks, bridges, video casting devices ...etc that it has to manage so we'll see where it goes from here.

I would seriously like to have someone get back to me about more ways to tune this thing, we need more logging & more control in the gui!

Thanks for the assist guys!

-hammerite
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DHCP is not functioning properly when connected to DGS
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2015, 07:39:41 AM »

Hmm...well glad you got it working. I presume that if you had left the default router IP address pool or tested it out first, might not have seen any issues. Yes I agree that most IP addresses should work well. Seems like a configuration issue mostly here. Again, most of these home class routers are meant for the average home users or gamers, i.e. celery stalk as you put it.  ::) So most people don't have a need to do any more advanced configurations. There are more advanced routers out there for those more advanced celery stalk users I suppose. This one and others seemed to be for the lesser.

Future updates may include more advanced features. Keep tuned.  ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting