• July 22, 2019, 03:37:02 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: dhp-307av problems.  (Read 3604 times)

Broshi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
dhp-307av problems.
« on: February 05, 2015, 06:30:51 AM »

Hello,

Somewhere last year we got ourselves the dhp-307av kit. In the first half year or so it worked great no complaints about em. after that however the connection status started deteriorating and a couple of months ago it stopped working. After trying some stuff we found that the still work but no longer on different power distribution-boxes like they used to. Currently we have a extension cord lying through the house :|.

We have been trying alot of stuff but faild to find the problem. However we do have a couple of guesses which could be the cause.
 o Our internet provider(telenet) was working on their network, sadly enough i haven't been able to find any details on this.(the customer support coudnt anwser either )
 o There is a new network(unprotected) in the area. i have no idea where it is coming from though.

Do you guys possible have some hints on what it could be and if you need any additional info just drop it in a comment.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: February 05, 2015, 06:39:27 AM by Broshi »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47583
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dhp-307av problems.
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 07:40:48 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Mfr and Model# is the main host router?
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Test the kits in the same too to make sure they work vs remote located rooms.

Test with PC wire connected to the main host router or ISP modem to see any differences.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Broshi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: dhp-307av problems.
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2015, 05:24:17 AM »

Hello

Thanks for the recommendation & the aditional info questions but yesterday it started working again.

This time not trough the 2 plc though, our 2nd router that works as a access point is now apparently able to pick up the other plc's signal. Which makes our network functional which is more than enough. So now we have a plc we can use elsewhere in the house and the rest seems to be working okay. If I ever run into trouble again ill make a new tread with the asked for info from down below.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47583
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: dhp-307av problems. (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2015, 06:47:45 AM »

Glad you found a solution.
Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting