• September 25, 2020, 08:15:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't add network shares on DNS320  (Read 11631 times)

badduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Can't add network shares on DNS320
« on: May 07, 2012, 07:37:32 AM »

I migrated a WD 2TB EARS hdd from my old DNS323 into a brand new DNS320 with firmware v2.00. I checked in ShareCenter and the all files and folders are in order.

I proceed to create a new network share (Volume_1) with read/write permission for CIFS, but after clicking on the Finish button, it network share item didn't appear in the grid. There was no error message prompted and the logs didn't report any errors as well.

I did the same steps of creating a network share for FTP (FTP service was started) and the same happened. No network share item in the grid. I also didn't manage to connect into the FTP server from Windows 7 64x.

What could be wrong? I don't want to format the drive as it contains some important information.
Logged

albert

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • SoHo NAS Forum
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 05:01:32 AM »

Not sure if this will help, try doing a reset to factory default.
Logged
D-Link DNS-320 rev A1 (FW: 2.05) [FFP-0.7]
PCI NAS-01G (FW: Encore ENNHD-1000 4.10)
PCI NAS-01G (FW: OpenNAS 1.9]

badduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 07:06:12 AM »

I tried reseting to factory default but it didn't work.
What else can I do?
Logged

badduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 06:40:57 AM »

Apparently, i have to get a drive formatted before it can reognized by DNS320.
Is there way where I don't have to format the drive? I don't want to loose all my files.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1477
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2012, 08:56:35 AM »

This is where your proven back up is invaluable.

A couple of questions.
1.  Does the DNS-320 show up in windows network?  It should show up even if you can't do anything with it.

2a. If it shows up does it show any folders at all?
2b. If it does not show up then there is something blocking it in windows that will need to be fixed first.

As a last resort you could make a backup by getting either a USB/SATA adapter or a USB/SATA drive caddy and one of the installable IFS drivers to allow you to read the ext2 format of the drive.
Logged

badduck

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2012, 09:03:16 AM »

Hi Ivan,

Yes, I can ping the DNS320 but I can't browse to \\<IPAddress>\volume_1.
That's probably because I can't share the folders out at DNS320's share center.
However, I can view the files using Share Center's web file server function. (Application\Web File Server)

It would be great if somehow there is a way to just use the drive as is without formatting.
The drive is already formatted to ext3 previously using my old DNS323.

Regards,
Logged

freddyd

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 01:59:06 PM »

I have the same problem with creating a new network share.
I got it allready running (\\IP\Volume_1\) but after power off for an half day there were no network share anymore. So I try to creat a new one via the wizzard, but its was not successfully because the net share list remains empty. Pleas Help!!! ???
I don't want to format my HDD.

Sorry for my terrible english I hope you understand what I'm trying to tell you.

Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

william.barcellos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2013, 08:20:04 AM »

Hi badduck,

i was having the same problem.
I had a Network Location to my DNS-320l and suddenly I cold not access my DNS by the Network Location. I could still access my DNS by web browser and FTP.
Then I checked Network Share and there was nothing there. I tryed to create a new Network Share but it didn`t appear in the grid.
After trying many things, I decided to format the HDD, but the DNS would not format the HDD.
I had Fun Plug and Debian Squeeze intalled, so I decided to delete those files manualy by accessing the DNS by web browser.
I deleted first the fun plug files and restarted the DNS. After that I checked the Network Shares and Volume_1 was at the grid. So i tryed again to create a Network Location and I was able to do that.
So, if you have Fun Plug intalled on the DNS try removing it!
Logged

cas_xp

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't add network shares on DNS320
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2015, 06:59:27 AM »

I have a same problem. For somehow my second 3TB drive can't share any more. I tried many ways like: removing Fun Plug, resetting HD permission, factory default reset, upgrade to the latest firmware. But all doesn't work. I don't want to re-format my hard drive because there are a lot files on it. I believe the root cause should be in smbcv or some application developed by DLink. Those apps will generate /etc/samba/smb.conf but it may find some error.
I have a workaround to force set samba share on this Hard Disk. Fun Plug must be installed:

create a script with execution permission under /ffp/start/addsmbconf.sh
Code: [Select]
#!/ffp/bin/sh

# PROVIDE: telnetd
# REQUIRE: LOGIN

. /ffp/etc/ffp.subr

cat <<EOF >> /etc/samba/smb.conf
[ Volume_2 ]
comment =
path = /mnt/HD/HD_a2
browseable = yes
public = yes
oplocks = yes
map archive = no
read list =
write list = "nobody","@allaccount"
invalid users =
valid users = "nobody","@allaccount"
EOF
killall smbd
smbd -D


You can modify the script to fit your situation.
Logged