• September 16, 2019, 01:45:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11

Author Topic: Suddenly cannot view live camera feeds on Chrome or Firefox after Java Update  (Read 82271 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gadgetrants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10

It seems the DLink folks have been busy behind the scenes!  This morning I checked and guess what the original problem is back, WITH PORT FORWARDING enabled.   :o

So...long story, short...I disabled PF and sure enough I can view my cameras remotely on MDL.  So we're kinda back to when things were working "correctly", that is, without enabling any special options on the cameras.

I'd have to say this kind of reinforces the idea that the issue originated on their side, and wasn't related to old vs. new routers and updated security code, but I'm not a network engineer so don't take what I say too seriously.

EDIT:   now this is rather odd...I've spent a little more time testing, and it seems that 2 cameras are working as expected with PF off, 1 is working with it on, and 2 are not working with it on.  So I'm seeing it work (or not) both ways!   :-\  Guess I'd like others to chip in with their experience if possible.  Perhaps it's due to some funky stuff going on in my house.

-Matt
« Last Edit: April 09, 2015, 06:49:44 AM by gadgetrants »
Logged

RickALO

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61

Thanks for sharing Matt... that was kinda my thought too.. why would the original Java update problem back in February get fixed, work fine for about a month, and then, without any major Java updates, the cams quit working? It was good to know about the PF option, but glad to know things are "back to normal".
Logged

gadgetrants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10

Thanks for sharing Matt... that was kinda my thought too.. why would the original Java update problem back in February get fixed, work fine for about a month, and then, without any major Java updates, the cams quit working? It was good to know about the PF option, but glad to know things are "back to normal".
Rick I just updated my last post -- it seems I sort of have it working (on 2 cameras) with PF OFF, but also working on a third with it ON.  Not sure what's going on, but it might be related to having a router+extender and then different cameras connecting to different wifi sources.  Of course EVERYTHING was "working" with PF on the last week or two.  So it seems something has changed at MDL. 

-Matt
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Just remember this, if you have more than 1 camera or device, then the required ports needed for use will be taken up by the first device. uPnP PF is needed to help with finding additional ports for the other devices beyond what the 1st unit is already using which can't be shared for the same port #. Same thing happens with routers and game consoles. xBox 360 for example uses port 3074 for it's main connection with XBL. If I have two or more 360s on the same router wanting to play XBL, they all can't use port 3074, thus uPnP comes into play and finds other virtual ports for the additional consoles to use. Similar operation with the cameras. So for multiples of any camera, uPNP PF should be enabled regardless. I presume that default settings may have worked based on how users Mfr routers are designed and the uPnP code on them, however as mentioned before, there code could be out dated or become incompatible between the uPnP code on the router and the uPnP code on these cameras. uPnP code has become more strict in it's operations since the security issues were found and addresed by the uPnP community.

So defaults settings are what users were used to seeing, however was incorrect in operation or incompatible in the uPnP code. This would lead to incorrect thinking that default settings should always work when it probably wont with multiple devices. I presume that we should correct this line of thinking and start to use uPnP PF for any environments with two or more cameras so that the connections are handles as best as possible for all devices. Users should also check into there routers Mfr FW for any updates regarding uPnP code due to the insecurities found. Most Mfrs should be updating the code.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gadgetrants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10

FurryNutz, first I want to say, next to JavaLawyer, that you may be one of the most helpful people around.  Second, however, and with all due respect, I'm not sure you read my post as intended.  If I've misunderstood or I'm just flat out wrong, the first thing I'll do is apologize.  But please slow down and consider:

(1) A few months back, it seems that we all could remotely view our cameras with MDL, without any consideration of port forwarding, whether on the router or the camera.

(2) After a series of Java updates, MDL no longer displayed cameras remotely.  As I have 5 cameras, I can't really comment on the 1-camera situation.

(3) After a week or two of troubleshooting here, it was discovered that enabling port forwarding on the camera fixed the problem.

(4) Today, I discovered that I could no longer view my cameras on MDL with port forwarding enabled.  In fact, it was the exact OPPOSITE.  I could only view them if I turned forwarding (as always, on the camera) OFF.

(5) Strangely, for one of my 5 cameras, it only works with port forwarding on.  :)  Go figure.

So for the time being, I'm getting access to my cameras on MDL -- AGAIN, it's worth noting that I've always had access via IP number at home, as well as on the Android app -- with a MIXTURE of port forwarding either ON or OFF, depending on the camera.

My conclusion is I'd love for a DLink engineer to pop in here and let us know if anything is happening on the backend of MDL.  Sure feels like it is.  :)

My warmest regards,

-Matt
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

I can't only surmise that over the past several months, there has possibly been some changes in the default behavior that everyone is used to that may have been changed on the MDL side of this, I don't know for sure, thus using uPnP PF is now needed for multiple units online as I was informed. Also there can be some changes on the main host router side as well if any router updates were performed. Over all, the new behavior is what should be used as per discussion with D-Link. Multiple units should have uPnP PF enabled if your using automatic settings and configurations on the main host router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gadgetrants

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10

I Multiple units should have uPnP PF enabled if your using automatic settings and configurations on the main host router.
Precisely.  "..should..."  And yet now 4 of 5 cameras only work with PF off.  BTW, nothing changed on my router. 

Doesn't ruffle my feathers.  I can only say that first we didn't need PF, then we did, and now we (or just I) don't!

-Matt
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Whats the one camera that does not work? How is it configured?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

StewKatz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1

I just joined this forum because I was frustrated like everyone here why it wasn't working. I would like to share my fix that has worked for me.

My web cam is the DCS-931L with 1.07 firmware,  modem router DSL-2890AL with the latest firmware and Java version 8 Update 40.

Now for the fix you must open your browser enter your IP address of the camera . Once in click on setup tab, manual internet connection setup tab and scroll down to UPnP setting. By default my UPnP Port Forwarding was disabled, you must enable it, save your new settings and log out. Now it should work like normal again, tested in IE and Firefox :D


THANK YOU!!  I've been frustrated while trying to deal with this issue for a while now and finally got it working again thanks to joezep's fix above (enable UPnP Port Forwarding).  I'm finally able to view my DCS-930L running FW 1.12 using the latest Java version 8 update 45 in both Chrome and IE!

I basically just registered to spread the word in case it  helps anyone!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Thanks for the feed back and glad you go it working.
Please review this for future reference:
Links>mydlink and Browser FAQ
DCS Cloud (L) Series Camera Configuration and Mydlink.com
mydlink.com and Java Application FAQ

Enjoy.  ;)

I just joined this forum because I was frustrated like everyone here why it wasn't working. I would like to share my fix that has worked for me.

My web cam is the DCS-931L with 1.07 firmware,  modem router DSL-2890AL with the latest firmware and Java version 8 Update 40.

Now for the fix you must open your browser enter your IP address of the camera . Once in click on setup tab, manual internet connection setup tab and scroll down to UPnP setting. By default my UPnP Port Forwarding was disabled, you must enable it, save your new settings and log out. Now it should work like normal again, tested in IE and Firefox :D


THANK YOU!!  I've been frustrated while trying to deal with this issue for a while now and finally got it working again thanks to joezep's fix above (enable UPnP Port Forwarding).  I'm finally able to view my DCS-930L running FW 1.12 using the latest Java version 8 update 45 in both Chrome and IE!

I basically just registered to spread the word in case it  helps anyone!
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

DKempe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Looks like I have the same problem...i hope d-link can solve this problem. ;)
Camera is offline but i can see everything via my phone and via the admin account!
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 06:14:55 AM by DKempe »
Logged
Owner of one DCS-932L

RickALO

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61

DKemp,

Have you gone into your camera settings and ENABLED Port Forwarding? That resolved the issue for me...
Logged

DKempe

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Yes, i have done al the above suggested options.
Logged
Owner of one DCS-932L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

What is the Mfr and model of your main host router and ISP modem?
Are you seeing this problem from the LAN side if your router or the WAN side from some remote location?

Yes, i have done al the above suggested options.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11