• April 06, 2020, 12:40:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: D-Link G604T remote web management.  (Read 3696 times)

top-dad

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
D-Link G604T remote web management.
« on: January 12, 2015, 11:23:09 PM »

Hi All,


I am trying to enable remote web management but am unsure how to get it working.

I have enabled remote web management under tools/admin, i am not sure what do i set the IP and Netmask too ?.

Do you set the IP to the computer you intend to do remote management from ?.

Can you also use your iphone to do remote management.

I have also changed the webport from 80 to 8080, i have read somewhere that it needs to be changed to this.

And then how do you access the router using the web browser, do you just enter the IP number, eg 10.1.1.1.

Or do you need to enter http://10.1.1.1:8080, any help would be appreciated.

Top-Dad
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48549
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 07:27:47 AM »

Please post a picture of the remote management screen.
Adding Screenshots In A Post

I would review the user manual to see if there is additional set up information.

Most routers are just enabled and then you set a port on it, we recommend trying 8181. Then if the remote feature is enabled, you should be able to access the modems web page remotely by using the public IP address that the modem gets from your ISP service and the port number you set. So it would look something like this when you enter it into the remote PCs web page: http://##.##.###.###:8181
You should see the web page here...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

top-dad

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2015, 02:48:32 PM »

Hi there,


Sorry I didn't respond i didn't get a email notification that anyone responded, so i thought no one responded lol.

Probably went into spam folder, i will give it go when i get a chance and see how it goes.

Cheers.

Top-Dad.
Logged

top-dad

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2015, 01:30:14 AM »

Hi,

Screen shot below. BTW that is not my IP address.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48549
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2015, 08:03:19 AM »

well if you enable the remote access, I think you need to give a correct WAN ip address. I don't know what exactly would go there accept for the WAN IP address that the DSL modem gets from the ISP service. On other D-Link routers, it's more simplified and users just enable the feature and then most users can access remotely by typing the following example: http://68.228.152.225:8282

However not sure about this model here. Is there any information in the user manual?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

top-dad

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2015, 05:06:30 PM »

Hi There,

When you say WAN IP address i assume you mean public IP address ?.

Well that's what i have entered and changed the port to 8181, then in a webpage i enter http://##.##.###.##:8181.

But i get nothing, as for the manual all it says is the following.

To change the Routerís port number use the Web Port field. Click Apply to set your new password. This window will also allow the user to enable remote management of the device from a remote computer, either through the web management or through Telnet. To configure this function, click the Enabled radio button under the Remote Management heading, enter the IP Address of the computer you wish to allow to remotely configure the Router, along with the corrsponding SubnetMask (Netmask). Click Apply to set these configurations into the memeory of the Router.


Cheers.

Top-Dad
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48549
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2015, 05:27:08 PM »

Yes, the public IP address and port number.
That does not work when trying to connect from a remote location?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

top-dad

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2015, 08:01:21 PM »

Hi,


No i get nothing when i enter the public IP address and port 8181.

Interestingly in the manual it says, "enter the IP Address of the computer you wish to allow to remotely configure the Router".

So i guess i can try that, i assume the problem is i can only remotely access it from that computer if it works ?.

I thought this was going to be much easier than this.

Top-Dad
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48549
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link G604T remote web management.
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2015, 07:07:25 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!