• October 17, 2019, 11:11:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK  (Read 5959 times)

tampines

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK
« on: January 05, 2015, 08:32:11 AM »

I have a DIR-850l router which was working perfectly for the past 10 months. It stopped connecting to network now.   I have already checked the modem and I do have internet connection available if I directly connect computer to modem. The router internet connection indicator is green but I can't get internet connection.
 I am using cable modem ARRIS in US. I have already tried to reset and setup again a few times. The internet connection indicator on router is green but is not connecting to internet.
Little bit history: I think its a gradual degradation of the router. In the past few weeks, the telephone voice quality used to drop if I switch on TV. Yesterday ,my laptop lost connection briefly  while the tv was switched on. Later the internet connection stopped working.
Any suggestions, please help. I am on 'A', FW 1.09

Thaks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 08:39:59 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.

Power OFF the router and ISP modem. Power ON the ISP Modem first and let it sync then power ON the router.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.
  • Turn off TrueGigaBit Routing under Setup/Internet/Manual for those routers that have this feature for testing.


Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials


There is newer FW that you can try:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=57293.0
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

tampines

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2015, 05:47:03 AM »

Hi there,
                   Problem solved now. I didn't try anything different than the previous night.  The first day I tried to fix, I had resetted the router and re-done the setup using a MAC. It didn't solve the problem then. The second day I tried to fix it, I resetted the router again and re-done the setup using Window's PC. It gave me one more popup window which I didn't notice during setup with MAC . All is well now.
                  Another thing I notice was, during setup, there was a button 'clone this  ....' , clicking that didn't change a thing in MAC , but in PC , it did introduce some new values to the field. That might have done the trick.
                    Thanks for your input. Appreciate it.
Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2015, 07:01:22 AM »

Glad you got it working.

What OSX version and browser where you using on the Mac when you first this this up?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

tampines

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2015, 10:42:33 AM »

It was Mavericks(10.9.2) and safari .

Thanks
Sudeep
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR 850L STOPPED CONNECTION TO NETWORK
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2015, 11:07:56 AM »

Thank you. There is 10.10.1 now FYI.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting