• September 15, 2019, 03:01:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Charter Arris TM1602 Modem and DIR-850L  (Read 24562 times)

jaymerkramer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Charter Arris TM1602 Modem and DIR-850L
« on: December 04, 2014, 07:29:35 PM »

My trusty Motorola SB6141 died(would not sync at all) so Charter replaced with a brand new Arris TM1602 which the tech told me was better due to being able to sync 16 channels which is now rolling out in my area. My DIR-850L Rev A  keeps dropping the Wan side(orange light comes on front of router) and I have to reset it to get it back up. Sometimes it will not come back up unless I let it sit for awhile. I turned off "use unicasting" but still no go. I have the latest firmware also. Anything to try anyone can think of?
Thanks for any assistance
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Charter Arris TM1602 Modem and DIR-850L
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 07:49:36 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router

You might see if you can get into a Motorola SB 6183. They are new and supposed to handle more channels than the the SB 6141 and 6180. I personally don't recommend Arris, even though they bought Motorola's modem division a while back. Also having your own modem avoids paying any ISP modem rental fees.

Is there a TruGigabit Routing feature listed under Setup/Internet/Manual?

Arris Cable Modems and External Routers
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 07:52:22 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Charter Arris TM1602 Modem and DIR-850L
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2015, 07:56:06 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

My trusty Motorola SB6141 died(would not sync at all) so Charter replaced with a brand new Arris TM1602 which the tech told me was better due to being able to sync 16 channels which is now rolling out in my area. My DIR-850L Rev A  keeps dropping the Wan side(orange light comes on front of router) and I have to reset it to get it back up. Sometimes it will not come back up unless I let it sit for awhile. I turned off "use unicasting" but still no go. I have the latest firmware also. Anything to try anyone can think of?
Thanks for any assistance
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting