• December 06, 2019, 07:31:37 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Acces Point setup + IPV6  (Read 1858 times)

koen_dr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Acces Point setup + IPV6
« on: October 28, 2014, 10:31:02 AM »

Hi guys, I installed 2 868's as access points through our house and it's all working like a charm (only downside 4 channels on 5GHz). I only noticed that my gear gets ipv4 addresses and my "Telenet" modem is distributing a IPV4 and IPV6 address, but the 868's only give through the 4's... Is this assumption correct and if so can I alter anything in the setting to make them distribute these 6's addresses too? DHCP off course is disabled...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Acces Point setup + IPV6
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 11:41:02 AM »

Is IPv6 enabled under Setup/IPv6? If your ISP is providing native IPv6 protocols, then have the router run thru the IPv6 wizard set up to see if it can detect it.

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

koen_dr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Acces Point setup + IPV6
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2014, 08:09:06 AM »

It's "Telenet" and they run over a fibre/coax cable at 160mbs/down and 10mbs up
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47953
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Acces Point setup + IPV6
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2014, 08:32:23 AM »

Is IPv6 enabled under Setup/IPv6? If your ISP is providing native IPv6 protocols, then have the router run thru the IPv6 wizard set up to see if it can detect it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

PacketTracer

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
Re: Acces Point setup + IPV6
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2014, 06:59:26 AM »

Hi,

providing IPv6 to WiFi clients depends on how you have connected your two 868 devices to your Telenet modem. To me it looks like your modem does not work in bridge mode but is a router of its own, distributing IPv4 and IPv6 to devices (directly) connected to its LAN interfaces.

If you use the Internet ports of your 868 devices to connect to your Telenet, you most probably will only get IPv4 to WiFi clients but no IPv6. This is because in this case both 868 work itself as routers. With IPv4 this works fine due to NAT, but with IPv6 you would have to configure your Telenet and both 868 to route and distribute parts of the IPv6 address range assigned to your Telenet by your ISP to the LAN segment between the Telenet and your 868 and both the Wifi areas defined by your 868 devices. A static configuration of such a scenario is of course not possible for that kind of devices used for home networks. And another automatically working mechanism called DHCP-PD  (DHCP Prefix Delegation) to support router cascades is neither a common standard implemented in all home routers (or modems working as routers) nor guaranteed to interoperate between devices of different vendors. Nowadays DHCP-PD usually only works for single router scenarios (a single LAN/WLAN behind the router) but not for router hierarchies, maybe this will change in the future when IPv6 and cascaded router scenarios become more common in the home network area. Or maybe the efforts undertaken by the IETF homenet working group will become an accepted standard being implemented by router vendors to automate network configuration.

The only solution I see is to connect your 868 devices to you Telenet via a LAN port and hence using the 868 as pure bridging devices between WiFi and wired network where a single IPv4 and IPv6 network solely defined by your Telenet spans both your wired and wireless parts of your home network. In this case your 868 devices need no specific IPv6 or IPv4 configuration -  leave IPv6 switched off and switch off DHCP for IPv4. You just have to configure two IPv4 addresses out of the LAN range defined by your Telenet modem to be used by your 868s in order to be able to access their GUI.

PT
« Last Edit: November 22, 2014, 08:29:31 AM by PacketTracer »
Logged