• November 19, 2019, 03:48:30 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports  (Read 10111 times)

djshaunvt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports
« on: July 07, 2014, 04:28:05 AM »

Hi Guys.

After 2 hours of messing about I hope someone can help. I have a Dlink DFL 860 e Firewall which is working 100 %. PPOE Configured on WAN 1. I have plugged another modem into WAN 2 (Also PPOE) and I can see that both interfaces are up. I would like to route all traffic for example originating from a certain subnet out WAN2.

I have created a 2nd routing table and specified the PPOE2 route in there. I have also created a routing rule and specified any traffic from Lan interface originating from host 10.1.2.23 should use routing table 2 which I have created as a forwarding routing table and use the main one for return routing table. I have also create an access rule folder and made a rule as follows:

Nat traffic from Interface Interface LAN - Network (10.1.2.3) Service - Ping Outbound --- destination PPOE2 ---all nets.  The ping is just to test. I am getting to ping replies so I know its not going out WAN 2.

If anyone has any experience any info would be appreciated.

I don't want failover or load balance just want to send out a specific subnet over WAN 2.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 04:29:42 AM by djshaunvt »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2014, 07:12:31 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djshaunvt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2014, 08:37:46 AM »

I managed to get it working by playing around a bit.

Its working 100 %.

Many thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2014, 08:40:23 AM »

Would you provide some details on what you did to get it working so other may benefit from your success?


Glad you got it working.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djshaunvt

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2014, 08:59:25 AM »

Quite a long process.

In address book created 2 objects for instance:

1st floor = 192.168.0.0/24
Ground floor = 192.168.1.0/24

I setup 2 PPOE connections with ISP password and username.... in the PPOE connections menu.

On the 2nd PPOE connection under options I took out the "Automatically add route"

I created an interface group containing PPOE 1 and PPOE2 connections.

PPOE 1 is on interface WAN 1 , PPOE 2 is using WAN 2 Interface.

To keep it simple...In rules folder I created an outbound rule...NAT  , Source interface Lan  , Source Network = ground floor  ,destination = The interface group containing the 2 PPOE connections  destination = All Nets  (All TCP / UDP)

And then another rule:

rule...NAT  , Source interface Lan  , Source Network = First Floor,destination = The interface group containing the 2 PPOE connections  destination = All Nets (All TCP / UDP)



Then you create a 2nd routing table called for example routing table 2 containing only a route to PPOE 2 - All nets

I then created a routing rule

From source LAN , network = First floor    ,   destination = PPOE 1  network = all nets (Forward routing table = Routing table 2 , return routing table = main.

So all people on the First floor will use WAN 2 (PPOE2) all users on ground floor will use WAN 1 (PPOE1)

I didn't setup failover etc but I use PRTG traffic grapher where I monitor Both WAN connections so I can see they are using both.

If I pull WAN 2 out the First floor people loose connection but not the ground floor.

You can go even further in routing rules and choose for only certain protocols to go out WAN 2 etc.

Hope this makes sense.

Shaun
« Last Edit: July 17, 2014, 09:00:28 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47914
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dlink DFL 860e Using Both Wan Ports (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2014, 09:01:16 AM »

Thank you for the details sir. Hope it will come in handy for future reference.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting