• September 20, 2019, 07:26:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: DIR-857 Help  (Read 12602 times)

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
DIR-857 Help
« on: August 13, 2014, 06:41:53 AM »

Furree,
I will plug my DIR-857 up in a little bit and see what happens. I have the laptop cooler ready to go and once I get everything setup I will reply to his post.

I will get team viewer on my laptop so we can go through everything in my router and set it up right.

Chuck
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 06:59:30 AM »

Whats wrong again?  ???

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?


Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2014, 07:40:51 AM »

Whats wrong again?  ???

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?


Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N or AC on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions. Try channel 48 or 149 on 5Ghz.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Ensure any devices with WiFi adapter drivers are updated.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
1)I haven't done any factory resets.
2)I now have Suddenlink 50/3 and the modem is a ARRIS TM822
3)The SSID is one that we have always used for my routers. Home1 (2.4) and Home2 (5)
4)I always use mixed G and N for 2.4
5) I always had the channel width for 20/40
6)Had channel 11 for 2.4
It could be the wireless phones that we have since they work on both 2.4 and 5 and it has only been roughly 3 feet away from the modem and other electric devices. I am going to try and move it a little further away and with the laptop cooler see if it helps.

I will hook everything up now and see what happens, let you know in a little bit.
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2014, 08:00:23 AM »

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

How is the router placed? What surface is it on? Good air flow for it?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2014, 08:16:46 AM »

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

How is the router placed? What surface is it on? Good air flow for it?

Got everything hooked back up. got the wifi explorer thing hooked up. There are 8 other wifi connections other than mine but hey are all on different channel. There seems to be a 2nd Home1(my ssid name) and it has a different mac address and is on the same channel (11).

I just moved my router to a higher position on top of the cabinet it was on so it is not "boxed" in anymore. I also hooked up the laptop cooler to it. I will run a shaperprobe mlab speed test and post the results. My laptop is wired directly to the router btw
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2014, 08:27:02 AM »

My firmware is 1.02. What do I do about the other Home1 wirelss network on the same chanel? 
« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 08:30:47 AM by BiGxChucK »
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2014, 08:42:02 AM »

You know what? The other Home1 SSID may be my D-Link DAP-1320 wireless extender. I have it setup to the same SSID and password so the family can connect to it automatically and easier. Could this be causing a problem?
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2014, 08:43:25 AM »

Yes, if there is a different router with same SSID, either change the name or change channel, 1 or 6.

Turn that off for now and test with the 857.
If you need a DAP in AP mode you can use it however it needs to be on a different channel, 1 while the 857 is on 11.

Lets try that first. There is more resent FW available however lets test first...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2014, 08:45:43 AM »

I will unplug the DAP and then go get the newer firmware. Is it the 1.04?
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2014, 08:54:58 AM »

Downloading the firmware now.
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2014, 08:58:58 AM »

No, test with current FW loaded for now with DAP OFF...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2014, 09:02:20 AM »

Too late!  :-[ I will go check signal at the furthest pint in the house. I unplugged the DAP. After we get ll this squared away I would like to prioritize the xbox one in my router. I forgot how we did that last time 
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2014, 09:04:36 AM »

Be sure to follow this:
FW Update Process
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2014, 09:07:25 AM »

Everything seems to be fine. Getting really good signal in my bedroom which is the furthest point in the house. I have full WiFi bars on my cell and my daughters tablet. I will now go upstairs and check it out
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Help
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2014, 09:12:23 AM »

Test with out the DAP being online for a while.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3