• August 22, 2019, 04:06:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Disable WPS  (Read 5730 times)

ktriebol

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Disable WPS
« on: July 11, 2014, 05:57:27 AM »

Is there a way to disable the WPS function? I don't see an option for that in the web interface. I may have enabled it while executing the wizard initially (I don't remember if I actually did or not), but now that I am up and running I would prefer to disable it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPS
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 08:05:53 AM »

I think you can, under Wireless or Advanced wireless. I don't remember of the top of my head.  ::)

The only thing I can find is set up information in the User Manual on pages 145 and 151. I didn't see any information on disabling WPS.  :-\
« Last Edit: July 15, 2014, 07:33:51 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ktriebol

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Disable WPS
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2014, 07:40:58 AM »

Yeah, that's what I thought. No big deal, though. My router is in an unsecure area, but then again, I live miles away from anybody, so I'm not really worried about it. Disabling WPS would be a nice feature to have, though. I think it's available in DD-WRT and I might switch to that some day if it becomes available for the DIR-880L. I like the way you have better control over transmission power in DD-WRT too.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPS
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2014, 07:55:35 AM »

Ya, I'll ask about WPS, I presume since they have gone to a simpler UI on this model router, they may have left WPS in as something automatic now. It would be nice to have a bit more control over it.

D-Link I guess has kept with the 3 power settings and usually that works for most of the average home users. I'm glad thats still available on this model.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPS
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2014, 09:52:15 AM »

Ok so just in from D-Link, currently there is no UI for WPS. They said they review the situation and see if it could be added. No information on when or if it would be.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disable WPS
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2014, 10:05:35 AM »

Well that was quick. LOL. So it seems that since all WPS security issues have been fully resolved and fixed, as I presume, D-Link has removed the configure option from this model router and will not be adding it back in. It's just automatic. I presume that when it's not in use, it just idle or waiting at the ready to be used. Press of the button and your off and running. Thats all there is to it.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting