• September 16, 2019, 07:17:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Obtaining IP address problem  (Read 44197 times)

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2014, 03:01:42 AM »

Hi,

just want to mention that there is still one problem that persists currently with obtaining IP address after setting all up as described in this thread.

For example, I'm connected to Network 1 on the ground floor and I climb on the 1st floor where Network 2 is stronger. When I try to switch from Network 1 to Network 2 I'm having same obtaining IP problems as described before. FurryNutz maybe you have some idea how to fix this as well?

Thank you!

Logged

JohnnyzNL

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #16 on: July 10, 2014, 04:03:32 AM »

@Konekcija

About the obtaining, your device receives a 192.168..0.xx address?
Since that is my problem..

Logged

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2014, 06:15:52 AM »

Hi Johnny & FurryN.

It seams that some problems persist out there with obtaining IP address for clients that have connected to Network 2 (the one that get signal from DAP-1360). So the problem is not only appearing when you try to connect to Network 2 after you were connected to Network 1, it also appears after you are constantly connected to the Network 2. After some longer period of time, devices connected to Network 2 through DAP-1360 start to encounter the same obtaining IP address problems. Then, if restart DAP-1360 everything is fine again. So it seams, restarting DAP-1360 from while to while helps a bit. But that is not quite practical.

@Johnny, my device receives correct IP address on Network 2 only if I "forget" Network 1 on my device. If I don't do that, I can't get an IP from DAP. That makes impossible to walk through the building and change your network depending on the strength of the signal. A little bit frustrating, but I hope we'll solve the issues with generous help from FurryNutz. :)

Thanks
Logged

aaaaaaa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2014, 06:12:43 AM »

Hey, what a fast solution to my problem!
Since I reset my DAP this problem persisted with my Android, and now it's over!! Thank you!
Logged

JohnnyzNL

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2014, 04:09:33 AM »

It seems that I have found a solution to my issue regarding obtaining IP address.

To solution was to give every extender their own SSID.
It still gives the right IP addresses after 4 days..

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2014, 07:43:15 AM »

Can you detail us how you did this?
What modes are you using the extenders in? I presume AP mode?

Glad you found a fix for this...


It seems that I have found a solution to my issue regarding obtaining IP address.

To solution was to give every extender their own SSID.
It still gives the right IP addresses after 4 days..


Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2014, 02:56:25 PM »

My main router and DAP Access Point have different SSIDs. Main router is Network 1, DAP Access Point is Network 2, but there is still problem with obtaining IP address to devices connected to Network 2 as I described few posts above. So in my case, giving different SSIDs didn't solve the problem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2014, 07:07:39 AM »

Can you disable the DHCP services on the DAP and set it up so it lets the DHCP server on the main host router pass thru IP addressing and see if that works. Sounds like when DHCP is enabled on the DAP, it's not passing out IP addresses. What is the IP address of the main host router and the DAP?

My main router and DAP Access Point have different SSIDs. Main router is Network 1, DAP Access Point is Network 2, but there is still problem with obtaining IP address to devices connected to Network 2 as I described few posts above. So in my case, giving different SSIDs didn't solve the problem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2014, 07:13:34 AM »

Hi FurryNutz. Yes, my DAP is set to Static IP already.

My LAN Connection is : STATIC IP ADDRESS IP Address :    

IP Address :   192.168.1.50
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
Gateway address: 192.168.1.1
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2014, 07:16:41 AM »

So the main host router is at 192.168.1.1? Hmmm...this should be passing thru IPs in this configuration to devices if the DAP is wired or bridged to main host router...What is the Mfr and model of the main host router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2014, 02:16:24 PM »

Yes, the main router is at 192.168.1.1. The main router is Siemens Gigaset SX763 model. I got it from my internet provider (T-Com).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2014, 02:27:07 PM »

Whats it's DHCP Pool IP address set for? From and to? 192.168.1.100 to .199?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2014, 02:30:44 PM »

On main rooter 1st issued IP is set to 192.168.1.100 and last issued IP is set to 192.168.1.253.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #28 on: July 17, 2014, 07:10:25 AM »

Ok, so what happens if you don't use a static IP address on the DAP and let the DAP get an IP address from the main host router?

Only think I can think of would be to factory reset, reload FW, factor reset after that and set up from scratch using the wizard...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Konekcija

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Obtaining IP address problem
« Reply #29 on: August 18, 2014, 02:44:10 PM »

Hi guys. Sorry for not replying for a while. Somehow I forgot to enable notification for this topic so I didn't noticed you have replied to me FurryNutz.

So, my problem still persists. Every now and then I need to restart (unplug and plug again) DAP because if I don't do that people trying to connect to my Network 2 (the one transmitted from DAP) are not able to get an IP address from it. When I unplug/plug the DAP, everything works fine for a while, and then I need to do the same procedure.

So, you are suggesting doing a factory reset and setting it up from beginning?

Thanks
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3