• November 13, 2019, 07:57:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: QoS Configuration - Setting a Single Port to the Lowest Priority  (Read 15285 times)

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2014, 04:41:48 PM »

Please be patient.

It has been nearly 3 months since my original request for information.  If this isn't patience then I don't know what is.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2014, 11:49:17 AM »

Is there any status on this? Have you been in contact with D-Link or has anyone from D-Link contacted you? I hope we can find some resolve for this...Please let me know. If there is a case number, please PM me the number for reference.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2014, 01:27:46 PM »

Is there any status on this? Have you been in contact with D-Link or has anyone from D-Link contacted you? I hope we can find some resolve for this...Please let me know. If there is a case number, please PM me the number for reference.

It has been 4 months now, and I still have not received the information I requested.  I have not been contacted by D-Link since my last inquiry (September 23).  In the last email I received from D-Link, my contact, Mark Ligutom, stated that:

"We are still waiting for a feedback from our PM Department."

There is a case number and I will PM you it.  I have asked multiple representatives to leave the case open until my information is received.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2014, 01:34:06 PM »

Roger that. I'll pass this along to my contact at D-Link today. I'm hoping there will be some official information or possibly find you an alternative solution if this router wont work for you.

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RyoS

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2014, 01:22:38 PM »

Greetings FrankTheTank,

We understand that you have been waiting for an extended duration for a response and regret that it has taken this many months, please accept our sincere apologies for the delay.  We followed up with our developers, and at this time, unfortunately there are no plans to change the QOS engine and the feature’s behaviors on the DIR-868L.  The designs and specifications are intended to be different than the older DIR-655 model.  It also lists primary application ports of choosing that satisfies most users.  We understand that there are loyal customers that recommend certain changes or request for specific features.  Please know that we do consider them and thank you for the feedback in bringing it to our attention.
Regarding your concerns with setting a port to the lowest priority, if you do so, the other application ports will be assigned an average bandwidth higher than it.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 01:28:46 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2014, 01:35:55 PM »

Thank you Ryos for the clarification and information.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2014, 03:45:40 AM »

Greetings FrankTheTank,
Regarding your concerns with setting a port to the lowest priority, if you do so, the other application ports will be assigned an average bandwidth higher than it.


RyoS thanks for the response.  What do you mean when you say that "other ports will be assigned an average bandwidth higher"?  I am interested in priority not bandwidth.
Logged

RyoS

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2014, 07:26:26 PM »

This is where it can get confusing as the QOS engine is now based off of bandwidth shaping as opposed to traditional QoS based. Your program's traffic is then calculated based on the ratio from either Strict Priority Queue (SPQ) or Weighted Fair Queue (WFQ) which you set.

As an example, say your ISP assigned 150Mbps pipe of download and 20Mbps upload, and you want to use all of it unrestricted.  Disable QoS checkbox.  If you test your speed performance from your favorite online speed testing website you should reach your 150Mbps down and 20Mbps up.

If you set your Down Speed to 20480kpbs (20Mbps), your Uplink to 16384kbps (16Mbps), enable the QoS, and save the settings, your speed test website should reflect the new speeds.

In Strict Priority Queue (SPQ), if you set one IP to an Application with Queue ID 1(Highest), and another Application with Queue ID 4 (best effort) you will see about a 75% to 25% split respectively in download bandwidth speeds.

In WFQ, you can assign the bandwidth based on percentage of how you see fit.  The total Queue Weight must add up to 100%.

So this allows you to designate how much bandwidth to partition based off of the available Uplink and Downlink Speed that you set.

Hope this clears things up a bit.  I suggest you try it to see if it meets your expectations.


« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 09:44:06 AM by RyoS »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2014, 01:08:44 PM »

Thank you RyoS for the additional, information, details and clarification.

I hope this helps in the configuration with the 868L. It's a good router. I like mine.  ;D

This is where it can get confusing as the QOS engine is now based off of bandwidth shaping as opposed to traditional QoS based. Your program's traffic is then calculated based on the ratio from either Strict Priority Queue (SPQ) or Weighted Fair Queue (WFQ) which you set.

As an example, say your ISP assigned 150Mbps pipe of download and 20Mbps upload, and you want to use all of it unrestricted.  Disable QoS checkbox.  If you test your speed performance from your favorite online speed testing website you should reach your 150Mbps down and 20Mbps up.

If you set your Down Speed to 20480kpbs (20Mbps), your Uplink to 16384kbps (16Mbps), enable the QoS, and save the settings, your speed test website should reflect the new speeds.

In Strict Priority Queue (SPQ), if you set one IP to an Application with Queue ID 1(Highest), and another Application with Queue ID 4 (best effort) you will see about a 75% to 25% split respectively in download bandwidth speeds.

In WFQ, you can assign the bandwidth based on percentage of how you see fit.  The total Queue Weight must add up to 100%.

So this allows you to designate how much bandwidth to partition based off of the available Uplink and Downlink Speed that you set.

Hope this clears things up a bit.  I suggest you try it to see if it meets your expectations.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #24 on: January 04, 2015, 01:24:22 AM »

This is where it can get confusing as the QOS engine is now based off of bandwidth shaping as opposed to traditional QoS based. Your program's traffic is then calculated based on the ratio from either Strict Priority Queue (SPQ) or Weighted Fair Queue (WFQ) which you set.

As an example, say your ISP assigned 150Mbps pipe of download and 20Mbps upload, and you want to use all of it unrestricted.  Disable QoS checkbox.  If you test your speed performance from your favorite online speed testing website you should reach your 150Mbps down and 20Mbps up.

If you set your Down Speed to 20480kpbs (20Mbps), your Uplink to 16384kbps (16Mbps), enable the QoS, and save the settings, your speed test website should reflect the new speeds.

In Strict Priority Queue (SPQ), if you set one IP to an Application with Queue ID 1(Highest), and another Application with Queue ID 4 (best effort) you will see about a 75% to 25% split respectively in download bandwidth speeds.

In WFQ, you can assign the bandwidth based on percentage of how you see fit.  The total Queue Weight must add up to 100%.

So this allows you to designate how much bandwidth to partition based off of the available Uplink and Downlink Speed that you set.

Hope this clears things up a bit.  I suggest you try it to see if it meets your expectations.


Thanks for the reply.  Unfortunately, your response doesn't answer my original question. 

A representative did contact me about a month ago and provided an answer: "All ports that are not being set prioritized will go under normal traffic".  Therefore, setting a single port to "Best Effort" (priority 4) should put it below all unassigned ports.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Single Port to the Lowest Priority (Solved)
« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2015, 07:57:20 AM »

I presume maybe the configuration and behavior of your networking environment may needs to change slightly. Maybe find a different way to configure the router for you needs? Do you still have the router?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Single Port to the Lowest Priority (Solved)
« Reply #26 on: January 17, 2015, 09:21:29 PM »

I presume maybe the configuration and behavior of your networking environment may needs to change slightly. Maybe find a different way to configure the router for you needs? Do you still have the router?

You presume incorrectly.  The issue was not the network setup, but rather the documentation provided by DLINK.  It was ambiguous; which is why several DLINK techs gave different answers as to what the implicit setting for unassigned ports in the QoS was.

The problem has been solved: All ports that aren't assigned a priority in the QoS take on the Normal setting (Tier 3).  Therefore, explicitly setting a single port to "Best Effort" (Tier 4) is a solution.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Single Port to the Lowest Priority (Solved)
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2015, 10:07:03 AM »

Maybe you can enjoy now.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FrankTheTank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35

Note: QoS does not function properly on the DIR-868L.  Details can be found in the FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55708.0
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS Configuration - Setting a Single Port to the Lowest Priority
« Reply #29 on: June 29, 2016, 07:43:23 AM »

Working on getting GPL code for rev As. Until then:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53989.msg270106#msg270106
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2] 3