• July 14, 2020, 12:16:29 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Emulator disabled  (Read 12792 times)

thevaughans

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Emulator disabled
« on: June 01, 2014, 09:56:39 AM »

I bought a DAP 1360 last November. It was easy to set up using the dlinkap emulator. I lost connection the other day and now when I try and connect using the emulator I get a message "this feature has been disabled in this emulator" when I press the 'Launch Wireless Setup Wizard' button. Iīve googled for a solution but no luck.

Can anyone help? 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 10:21:28 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Emulator? This on a web site or on the DAP?

If you factory reset the DAP and log into the DAPs web page at 192.168.0.50, you can set up the DAP using the setup wizard and go from there.

What mode are you wanting to use the DAP in? AP, bridge?
PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

thevaughans

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2014, 01:07:24 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for responding.

Hardware is Ver c1
Firmware is Ver 3.02
I'm in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates and I bough the device here.

The emulator is on the web at http://www.support.dlink.com/emulators/dap1360/101/ and it worked fine when I set-up the device in November

I want to use the device in Repeater Mode and until yesterday it was working fine then it lost network. When I try to reset it I get the problem with the emulator

Iīm using IE 11 and compatibility mode makes no difference
I've tried Chrome and get the same message re the 'feature is disabled'

The 192.168.0.50 address comes up as 'This Page Canīt be Displayed'

I've tried tech support at Dlink and they're not replying.
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2014, 01:15:01 PM »

Ok so emulator sites are mostly for using examples to see what features are on a device that coincides with an actual device. Some features on emulators may not be supported or actual functional due to dependencies.

What wireless modes are you using on the main host router?
What security modes are you using as well.
What channel?
Are there any other WiFi routers nearby? Use InSSIDer app to see whos near by...How many?
What is the distance between the main host router and the DAP?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

thevaughans

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2014, 11:35:30 AM »

I canīt even get passed the first post to set-up the device. I'm just following the instructions in the Dlink manual which tells me to use the emulator to set up the wireless connection to my modem. I really don't think the problem is anything to do with the hardware because that was working just fine up until a couple of days ago. I've done a factory reset and gone back to square one following the instructions which came in the box.

Do you know how I can get a response out of Dlink - up until now they have not responded to me emails.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2014, 11:46:15 AM »

Ya you should use the emulator, which maybe actually be referring to the DAP web page ui found at 192.168.0.50 on your LAN side network.

We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2014, 06:13:35 AM »

You should upgrade to firmware v3.04 as the v3.02 has lots of errors and problems. Reset the unit with the reset button and start over.

After that, if you get it working, it will not loose the connection.

Firmware v3.02 was horrible, lots of bugs.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2014, 07:45:33 AM »

Ya, Any status on this?  ???


I canīt even get passed the first post to set-up the device. I'm just following the instructions in the Dlink manual which tells me to use the emulator to set up the wireless connection to my modem. I really don't think the problem is anything to do with the hardware because that was working just fine up until a couple of days ago. I've done a factory reset and gone back to square one following the instructions which came in the box.

Do you know how I can get a response out of Dlink - up until now they have not responded to me emails.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2014, 07:40:07 AM »

Perhaps he upgraded firmware and it worked out, but posting a follow up here on the forums, way to much work.

Sigh, as usual.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Emulator disabled
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2014, 05:00:49 PM »

 ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!