• October 20, 2020, 02:11:16 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router question  (Read 5555 times)

dbbdark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Router question
« on: April 19, 2014, 11:32:03 PM »

Hello dlink,

I have a question first sorry for my bad englisch its not al to good so lets try it :D.

I have a buy 2 years ago the DIR-857 router and working fine for 2 years. We have switched from home still working good but the Wlan connecton on the other rooms in the building are bad. We buy a new router dir-636L not for routing but still for wifi signaal. So what have we do:

Configurated the DIR-857 as main router so the DHCP / WIFI / FIREWALL / PORDFORWARDING / Virtual server are on with default settings only i configurated the wifi channel @ a channel that not much used.

Configurated the DIR-636L as wifi switch so i disabled DHCP / FIREWALL / PORT FORWARDING / Virtual server

Both routers have a other SSID and have boh other main ip like : 172.16.0.1 and 172.16.0.2 WAN connection on the computer are fine never lose but wifi signaal broke after couple of hours. I mean its connect to the router but don;t getting internet trough the wifi.

I switched the set making the DIR636L as main router with same settings ( as dir 857 ) and setting the dir-857 as switch/wifi but on both setups i get many noticings on the log file:

Apr 20 08:28:13   user.info: kernel: DropIN=eth2.2 OUT= MAC=c8:be:19:59:fb:ce:00:0e:00:00:00:01:08:00:45:00:00:8e SRC=93.190.142.90 DST=195.64.65.187 LEN=142 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=58 ID=4437 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=143 DPT=42690 WINDOW=257 RES=0x00 ACK PSH URGP=0
Apr 20 08:26:21   user.warn: kernel: SRC=172.16.0.100, DST=172.16.0.1, SPORT=51273 DPORT=80 SYN=0 ACK=1 FIN=0 RST=1
Apr 20 08:26:14   user.info: kernel: DropIN=eth2.2 OUT= MAC=c8:be:19:59:fb:ce:00:0e:00:00:00:01:08:00:45:00:00:8e SRC=93.190.142.90 DST=195.64.65.187 LEN=142 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=58 ID=4436 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=143 DPT=42690 WINDOW=257 RES=0x00 ACK PSH URGP=0
 
This is the log from DIR 636L as MAIN router ( don't coping everything but this wil repeating with different ip's )
Why i getting many of this DROPIN and DROPOUT messages ?????

Because normaly in this setup if main router have DHCP and second router disable the DHCP is should me work please help....
Logged

dbbdark

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Router question
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2014, 11:42:09 PM »

Mailed log file from Router DIR-636L ( configurated as main router now )

http://www.darkonline.nl/messages.0.txt

Extra info about my settings:

Now wifi are configurated on chan 10 and chan 13 Because with a app @ android i see around the 6 a 7 wifi signaals  @ -70 dBm and around channel 10 and 13 around 1 sometimes 2 networks around the -90

This setup i haven'd tested jet waiting now @ the disconnecting from the wifi signaal to the internet still not happend but i don;t know why i get many of that messages please i hope you people now the awnser
« Last Edit: April 19, 2014, 11:47:40 PM by dbbdark »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router question
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 10:52:08 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

For using wired AP mode on routers please follow this:
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router question
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2014, 08:33:29 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

Hello dlink,

I have a question first sorry for my bad englisch its not al to good so lets try it :D.

I have a buy 2 years ago the DIR-857 router and working fine for 2 years. We have switched from home still working good but the Wlan connecton on the other rooms in the building are bad. We buy a new router dir-636L not for routing but still for wifi signaal. So what have we do:

Configurated the DIR-857 as main router so the DHCP / WIFI / FIREWALL / PORDFORWARDING / Virtual server are on with default settings only i configurated the wifi channel @ a channel that not much used.

Configurated the DIR-636L as wifi switch so i disabled DHCP / FIREWALL / PORT FORWARDING / Virtual server

Both routers have a other SSID and have boh other main ip like : 172.16.0.1 and 172.16.0.2 WAN connection on the computer are fine never lose but wifi signaal broke after couple of hours. I mean its connect to the router but don;t getting internet trough the wifi.

I switched the set making the DIR636L as main router with same settings ( as dir 857 ) and setting the dir-857 as switch/wifi but on both setups i get many noticings on the log file:

Apr 20 08:28:13   user.info: kernel: DropIN=eth2.2 OUT= MAC=c8:be:19:59:fb:ce:00:0e:00:00:00:01:08:00:45:00:00:8e SRC=93.190.142.90 DST=195.64.65.187 LEN=142 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=58 ID=4437 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=143 DPT=42690 WINDOW=257 RES=0x00 ACK PSH URGP=0
Apr 20 08:26:21   user.warn: kernel: SRC=172.16.0.100, DST=172.16.0.1, SPORT=51273 DPORT=80 SYN=0 ACK=1 FIN=0 RST=1
Apr 20 08:26:14   user.info: kernel: DropIN=eth2.2 OUT= MAC=c8:be:19:59:fb:ce:00:0e:00:00:00:01:08:00:45:00:00:8e SRC=93.190.142.90 DST=195.64.65.187 LEN=142 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=58 ID=4436 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=143 DPT=42690 WINDOW=257 RES=0x00 ACK PSH URGP=0
 
This is the log from DIR 636L as MAIN router ( don't coping everything but this wil repeating with different ip's )
Why i getting many of this DROPIN and DROPOUT messages ?????

Because normaly in this setup if main router have DHCP and second router disable the DHCP is should me work please help....
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!