• December 11, 2019, 08:36:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features  (Read 16592 times)

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2014, 06:22:00 AM »

By exposing the web UI, Do u mean that the USERS would have to enter
           [IP_ADDRESS]/mjpeg.cgi (e.g. 192.168.0.2/mjpeg.cgi)
on address bar of web browser and they will be asked for user name and password  (user name and pw, i have already set using the hardware)?????
AND
Does this port forwarding method explained anywhere?


Read the thread titled "DCS Network Cameras - Using Port Forwarding to Access a Camera from the Internet" listed on the following post: Network Cameras - Important Posts & Information

The user enter enters the following: [ISP_IP_ADDRESS]:[CAMERA_PORT#] (e.g. 301.33.54.85:81) and is presented with the username/password field.  After entering the credentials they should see the LIVE video page of the web UI.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2014, 03:52:11 AM »

can you plz tell me how to find my [ISP_IP_ADDRESS]??
I know this qs is too basic but i am dealing with networking for the first time...i know how to find my IP address and  through my local router, i reserved ip addresses for my cameras being (192.168.0.101, 192.168.0.102.....) and i could access them through my local router but now when i am trying to access them through my office (remote router) by writing the same ip addresses (192.168.0.101:80, 192.168.0.102:80.....) the page doesnt load up....

so i was thinking, there is some diff between ISP IP and simple IP...and i think i need to enter ISP ip...but how do i find my ISP ip of win 7?
and by default the port of all the cameras are 80? if not then how to find the port no of cameras?
Logged

ReverendTed

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2014, 06:17:01 AM »

In general, a 192.168.x.x IP address is going to be an internal network address.  Your router assigns those to the devices connected to it.
Your ISP IP address will be assigned by your service provider to whatever device connects you to the Internet, and is the IP address that can be "found" by someone connecting from somewhere else on the Internet.  The easiest way to find it is to go to a site like whatismyip.com while you're on the network.  (Alternatively, you're looking in the settings for the device that actually connects to the Internet and looking for a WAN IP.  If the WAN IP is a 192.168.x.x, then there's another device between it and the Internet.)

In order to access the cameras directly from across the Internet, they'll need to have unique port numbers, and those ports will need to be forwarded from each "routing" device on your network along to the camera.
For instance, if your modem is also your router, then the ports just need to be forwarded there.
If you have a modem and then a router, you'll need for forward the ports first from the modem to the router, THEN forward them from the router to the camera itself.

There's two ways to do this, depending on what your specific needs are.
In my case, I left all my cameras with port 80, but had my router forward requests for port 801 to one camera's 80, port 802 to another camera's port 80, and so on.  Before that, my modem forwarded requests on port 801-803 to the router.
The problem with this is that the cameras don't know they've had port 801 (or whatever) opened instead of 80, so they can't report it themselves automatically, though that doesn't really seem to matter for my usage.

The alternative is to change the port settings for each camera to a unique port, and have the modem and router forward those ports along as appropriate.  The problem here is that now when you want to access the camera on its own network, you have to add the port number on, when you wouldn't normally have to.  (192.168.x.x:801 instead of just 192.168.x.x)

There.  Clear as mud?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2014, 08:57:33 AM »

What make/model router do you have?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2014, 04:58:38 AM »

Any update on this issue?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2014, 05:32:03 AM »

My router is ptcl w150d-u....I still couldn't get it work:(
On net on slink site, I found that we can access camera remotely by writing www.(camera number).mydlink.com.....I have tried doing this way remotely but I get a blank page...only in the address bar I get a dlink icon....why.is that?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2014, 05:49:20 AM »

If you log into your router web UI from a browser on a PC connected to the router, you should find a status page indicating the WAN IP address. This will be an address different than 192.168.x.x.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2014, 08:21:02 AM »

yes, i did try with the WAN address also which is in the form of 182.185.23.214 but it doesnt open up...I am going to paste the pic now what i am doing...let me tell u my network config firsst...
I have a dsl modem then a tplink wifi router which is connected to a camera (for the time being i am using only ONE camera to access it remotely)...

SO on modem, what i did is


to remove firewall, this is what i did on modem


on the router side, i also forwarded the ports like this




Now when i access my camera remotely by writing the wan address of MODEM, i cant get to it..the page doesnt load..it says, no data recieved on the chrome
« Last Edit: April 21, 2014, 08:29:24 AM by desire83 »
Logged

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2014, 08:22:05 AM »

what is the method of including the pictures in the post???!!!! ???
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2014, 08:23:07 AM »

what is the method of including the pictures in the post???!!!! ???

D-Link Forum - Adding Screenshots In a Post
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #25 on: April 21, 2014, 08:30:12 AM »

just modified my post with pics...plz see
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2014, 08:39:21 AM »

There are no images.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

ReverendTed

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2014, 08:52:06 AM »

In the router settings, you'll forward port 80 to your camera (192.168.0.101)

In the modem settings, however, you'll forward port 80 to the router.
There are two places to find this IP address, which should be a 192.168.x.x address.
1) The modem status page for connected devices.
2) The router's WAN IP address in the router status page.

So, the request comes from the Internet to the modem on port 80. 
The modem passes port 80 to the router.
The router passes port 80 to the camera.
Logged

desire83

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2014, 09:04:38 AM »

yeah, i think i am doing thtt already...plz, right click on the image n open it in new tab...u should b able to see the images
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Setting up a user accounts with restricted features
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2014, 10:25:48 AM »

I don't see any link to open (I looked through all your older posts).  Please re-post the link in your next reply.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC
Pages: 1 [2] 3