• August 13, 2020, 01:53:54 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: logging into router  (Read 3852 times)

nmaclennan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
logging into router
« on: April 23, 2014, 06:46:54 PM »

Is there some way of turning OFF the additional step of having to add the generated characters when logging into the router?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: logging into router
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 06:53:10 PM »

Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Disable the Captcha feature under Tools/Admin.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nmaclennan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: logging into router
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 07:56:58 AM »

Thanks for the reply.
Hardware - A1
Firmware was originally 1.02 but was updated to 1.05
I am located just outside Ottawa, ON (Carleton Place)

Did as suggested and turned off Captcha.

What I am trying to do is get NetGear Genie to open the router so I can make changes in the setup of the router. I originally was using Network Magic with my D-Links and found the program absolutely great for doing what I wished of it, but since upgrading 2 out of 3 computers at Christmas I have been unable to get "Magic" to work as Cisco has abandoned the software and I have been unable to locate a similar program. I gave up trying to keep track of number of network management programs I have tried. I came across NetGear Genie yesterday and "lo and behold" it looks very similar to NetWork Magic as far as the graphics go but it is unable to log into the router so I cannot set up the wireless items.

If you know of a program that might work for me and a few hundred more people I would be happy to try them out.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: logging into router
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2014, 08:16:52 AM »

Ya, most network management programs I've experience like NM didn't work well and usually caused problems with routers. We've usually recommended not using them and generally I don't. It's the manual configuration of the router is was works best. Most of the time the basic set up wizards work well too.

I can't say I can recommend any other management program as I don't use them personally.

Sorry.  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nmaclennan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: logging into router
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2014, 12:18:42 PM »

I have tried the manual configuration and all I learned was where the reset button was. I guess it's OK if you know your way around computers and their peripheral equipment but other than recognizing and knowing the names of said equipment, I'm lost.

Thanks for the help with the Captcha. It was in plain sight and I couldn't see it even with my glasses on until it was pointed out to me. Thanks again

Neil
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: logging into router (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2014, 12:22:29 PM »

If you need help in configuration of routers or have questions about it. Please ask here. There are many users including me with this router and can help you out in any way we can.

The router isn't that hard to learn and figure out. Just takes some looking around.
We have some documentation and information posted in the forums regarding setup of various sections of the router. Just depends on what your using it for.

Feel free to ask anything.

Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nmaclennan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: logging into router
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2014, 02:16:51 PM »

10-4

Thanks again
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: logging into router
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2014, 10:15:01 AM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!