• October 21, 2020, 12:42:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed  (Read 9561 times)

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« on: March 24, 2014, 08:44:32 PM »

I understand that there is a reduction of throughput speed when you connect a router to a modem, but I recently did some speed tests and found the speed throughput of the DAP-1360 was approx. 75% reduction compared to the Gateway modem. The notebook was positioned less the 4 metres from both the Home Gateway and router, and had direct line of sight.

Connected to Home Gateway (SSID-Aussie1) via Wi-Fi
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3379683553

Connected to D-Link Router (SSID-Aussie2) via Wi-Fi
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3379687900

What I don't know, as I did not do any speed tests with the DAP-1360 installed Firmware Version 3.01 when purchased, if the throughput speed had similar poor speed before upgrading to the new Firmware 3.04. As the Firmware version 3.04 resolved dropouts, could this version reduce/throttle the throughput speed so to prevent dropouts.





Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 03:10:21 PM »

Was the WiFi disabled on the ISP gateway modem while you had the DAP connected?
Any other WiFi near by?
Any one else using the same channel as the DAPs?
Any processing on the ISP gateway modem could also effect performances.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 09:59:09 PM »

Yes, the Wi-Fi on the ISP Gateway Modem was turned off.

The only other Wi-Fi networks are 2 neighbours, which one neighbour is on the same channel (1). insider shows the D-Link router with signal strength 56 and  signal strength of neighbour on same Channel is 70.

The Administrative/Moderator of my ISP Forum is surprised at these results and I've added his 2 comments, that you would have better understanding of then what I have:

"Even the best case performance of the WiMAX connection from the Home Gateway to vivid's network (lets say about 10Mbps) is about one order of magnitude less than the bandwidth available to a WiFi connection (minimum 54Mbps for 802.11g and 108Mbps or better for 802.11n) and probably close to 2 orders of magnitude less than Ethernet (1000Mbps) so changes to the local network ought not to influence performance of the WiMAX connection unless there is an issue to do with CPU performance in the modem."

"Is it possible that the D-Link is doing something that the Home Gateway just doesn't like?  e.g. TCP/IP packet sizes?  MTU and that sort of thing?  Or maybe its CPU is even more underpowered than the Home Gateway???"


EDIT:  In inSSIDer, what does Max Rate mean in the Networks Detail Pane when you highlight the network?  The ISP Gateway Modem has a Max Rate of 72, where the D-Link Router has a Max Rate of 300
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 01:53:57 AM by ozcaddy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 06:57:29 AM »

  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz APs only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF  Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are off. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2014, 12:07:09 PM »

Oh, that was a bit bad, if you are limited to 54Mbit or 72Mbit you should get more speed, I know as I did test the unit out on a faster line. When I tested under similar conditions as you the DAP-1360 gave me about 40Mbit speed. So something is not right for you.

I think my test was done on the old firmware, and I had similar results at home when pushing data over the local LAN. However, the speeds where less than the stated speeds in the standards, that said not bad compared to how slow WLAN equipment was 5 years ago.

Try to disable QOS, it is called WMM in the D-link if I remember. Restart it and try checking the speed again.

Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2014, 05:41:35 PM »

Thanks for your replies. These are the Wi-Fi settings in the router when speed tests were done:

Enable Wireless: Checked box - Always
Wireless Mode: Access Point
802.11 Mode: Mixed 802.11n, 802.11g, 802.11b
Wireless Channel: 9 (blocked out)
Enable Auto Channel Scan: Boxed Checked
Channel Width: Auto 20/40mHz
Visibility Status: Visible

Security Mode: WPA-Personal

WPA Mode: Auto (WPA or WPA2)
Cipher Type: TKIP & AES.

Following those the speed tests, I did change some of the settings to:

802.11 Mode: Mixed 802.11n and 802.11g
WPA Mode: WPA2 only

There was basically no difference in the speed gap between ISP Gateway modem and DAP-1360. I have tried various Channel numbers manually, but found the signal to be weak and have disconnections. That is why Auto Channel Scan is checked.

I will try the setting suggestions one at a time, and do speed tests after each setting change.

Devices.

The following devices connect to the DAP-1360:
Asus Notebook - Windows 7 Home 64bit.
Samsung Galaxy S3 Smart phone
Samsung TV and a Samsung PVR - but these are only connected when manually logged on to network.

No idea of next door neighbours setup.

I'll post back after changing recommended settings under Advance in DAP-1360.

Once again, thanks for you assistance and input.
Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2014, 03:50:21 AM »

27/3/14 1.36pm. Before making any setting changes on the DAP-1360 under Advance, I did a Speed Test.
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398487488

1.38pm Changed 802.11 Mode from 802.11n and 802.11g to 802.11n only.
Speed Test could not hold a connection to perform speed test. Reset 802.11 Mode back to 802.11n and 802.11g.
Reconnected and performed speed test.
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398502157

Advanced Wireless Settings

1.50pm -  Short GI:  The Box was checked, I Unchecked the Box saved settings and rebooted.
Performed speed test: http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398506124

1.54pm IGMP Snooping The Box was checked, I unchecked the Box saved settings and rebooted,
Performed speed test with both ISP Gateway Modem and DAP-1360:
ISP Gateway Modem - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398510810
DAP-1360 - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398512404
Having to connect to DAP-1360 router settings.

2.20pm Rebooted both devices and was able access DAP-1360 router settings.
Performed Speed test on both ISP Gateway Modem and DAP-1360 both speed tests froze when testing Upload Speed, so I manually noted Ping and Download speed of both tests.
2.21pm ISP Gateway Modem:  Ping 65ms,   Download 8.06Mbps
2.22pm DAP-1360   Ping 55ms,  Download 2.44Mbps

WLAN Partition box already unchecked.

WMM Enabled. Cannot uncheck box as it is greyed out.

3.36pm Disabled HT 20/40 Co-existence. Saved Settings and Rebooted. Performed speed test on both:
DAP-1360 - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398629436
ISP Gateway Modem - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3398630924

Since Unchecking HT 20/40 Co-existence and leaving other boxes that were changed unchecked, inSSIDer now shows DAP-1360 Channel as 1+5. Also, the Max Rate has dropped from 300 to 270.
The signal is showing 61, whist the neighbours signal as 74. The ISP Gateway Modem signal fluctuates between 68-91. All these tests were performed in my bedroom which is 3 rooms away (45ft) from both devices. 


Logged

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2014, 10:39:14 AM »

Ah.

"There was basically no difference in the speed gap between ISP Gateway modem and DAP-1360. I have tried various Channel numbers manually, but found the signal to be weak and have disconnections. That is why Auto Channel Scan is checked."

That could be your problem. You have tried lots of things. The only thing left that I can think of (other than to disable QOS (WMM). Try and reset the modem with the button on it, to see if you can start over from scratch, and disable WMM. Then setup the rest of the unit.

Why not try and go for standard 802.11g to 802.11n only, select only 20Mhz width, select a channel that is free from others by using inSSIDer, disable auto channel scan, and select a channel that should work. Select WPA2 with AES. Thats it. And then do speed tests with the laptop of whatever you are using close to the DAP-1360 for a strong signal. This should get you to 40-60Mbit/sec and that is an acceptable speed.

I do not understand why you can not disable QOS, WMM, I could do this on my unit with both v3.02 and 3.04 firmware. Must be something blocking you from preforming that task, as I know in some configurations some options are greyed out. So you have to do some tasks in the right order to be able to select the correct settings, a bit tricky but should work.

If none of the above works, buy a TP-Link 5dbi antenna or 8dbi antenna for stronger signal. There is in general a problem with some phones, laptops etc, that have bad antenna placement, this prevents high signal quality, even though you have good signal strength. Also if you have a bad antenna in the laptop or signal is not that high, a larger antenna (and stronger) on the DAP-1360 will make the unit work better. Plus the antenna I am referring to is not expensive and works well. If this fails to, I can not help you out more.

The only thing left is to see if the "Gateway Modem" is the problem, how to test this ? well you could try and connect another laptop of unit, and transfer a file over the LAN to check what speed you get, at least then you will know if the LAN part of the network is working full speed. As far as I can tell what you have done should work, only thing I do not like is that WMM is enabled.

Hope you get things sorted.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2014, 10:43:39 AM »

Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2014, 10:31:43 PM »

Hi Guys, thanks once again for the input and settings suggestions. I began mucking around with the settings for 802.11 Mode, Wireless Channel and Channel Width.

I changed the following settings to:
802.11 mode = 802.11n only
Wireless Channel = Unchecked Auto Channel Scan. Selected Channel 6 Manual
Channel Width = Changed to 20Mhz only

Checking inSSIDer, I noticed the Max Rate drop to 130. Channel 6 is shared with another network, which has a week signal (neighbour 3 houses away). Still no difference with the gap in speed between the 2 devices.

Still tweaking with these settings, I changed the Channel Width only back to Auto 20/40Mhz. When I checked inSSIDer after this change, it showed Channels 6 + 2, even though the Wireless Channel to is set to 6 manually, and the Max Rate 270.
I'm confused about the 2 Channels displaying.
 
I reset the Channel Width back to 20Mhz only. I'll do some more tweaking over the weekend. I'm using Internet Explorer 11 as my browser.
Logged

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2014, 06:57:43 AM »

Well, if you can disable WMM.

I think you need to try a file transfer on the LAN side, in order to see if it is the DAP-1360 that is problematic. The reason for this is that there could be something in the "ISP Gateway Modem" that is affecting the DAP-1360. The good thing is that if you do a speed test with cable and a computer you get much higher speed so there is no problem with the ISP connection.

Ok. This is how I setup the network that I have. You should not need to use any PPPoE, PPTP, that should be handled by the modem / router you have. I do not notice if I have WMM disabled, but it is strange if it is greyed out. I think I did have it disabled. But even so, as you are a single user of the AP it should not have any impact on the speed. I will check this next time I am at the site where the APs are located, oh and I do use v3.04 of the firmware for H/W REV C of the units.

AP1 - Dlink DAP-1360 settings

Enable Wireless : Enabled - Always
Wireless Mode : Access Point
Wireless Network Name (SSID) : testname
802.11 Mode : Mixed 802.11n and 802.11g
Wireless Channel : 6
Enable Auto Channel Scan : Disabled
Channel Width : 20Mhz
Visibility Status : Visible

Security Mode : WPA-Personal

WPA Mode : WPA2 Only
Cipher Type : AES
Pre-Shared Key : testpassword

Device Name : dlinkap1
HT 20/40 Coexistence : Disable
WIFI Protected Setup : Disable

Time Zone : (GMT +01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna
Enable NTP server : Enable
NTP Server Used : insert a ntp server

This should work, if you still have problems, you could try the unit somewhere else, a workplace and so on. Could be something wrong with it. My setup does not give you super speeds but I had no problem getting 40-45Mbit on speed tests.

Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2014, 07:36:32 PM »

Monday morning 31/3, first chance to do any testing since last post. Checking DAP-1360 Settings and found the WMM box is now unchecked(disabled) for whatever reason.

DennisOlof1, changed settings to match what you provided (except Time Zone Sydney, Aust.). Did speed tests where laptop was 4 metres in direct line of sight to both devices.

9.41am ISP Gateway using Wi-Fi - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406767834

9.42am DAP-1360 using Wi-Fi - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406769086  (some improvement 75% reduction to 50%)

9.44am DAP-1360 using Wi-Fi -  http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406771740  The difference with this test is that I used a 5 metre Ethernet cable and moved the DAP-1360 approx. 3 metres away from the ISP Gateway. From the increase in speed, this appears the problem.

9.47am ISP Gateway using Ethernet cable -
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406774227
 
The ISP Gateway has 2 Ethernet ports, so for these 2 tests, I used the other port to what I have been using.

9.50am ISP Gateway using Wi-Fi - 
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406777501   

9.51am DAP-1360 using Wi-Fi - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3406778602   With these 2 tests  with the other port, there is basically no difference in speed between the 2 devices.

As the test showed the increase in speed was when the DAP-1360 was positioned further away from the ISP Gateway to where they are currently positioned (9 inches apart). Unfortunately, my home situation (caring for elderly mother) does not allow me to position the DAP-1360 anywhere else.
Logged

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP-1360 Throughput Speed
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2014, 02:09:22 AM »

Ok. Sounds like something is causing interference then. Is is possible for you to move the DAP-1360 to some position that is far away, enough to get you the increased speed. Even if it is hanging from the sealing above the gateway modem or something..

Is it possible to turn of the WLAN in the gateway modem ? Sounds like you should have a look at that unit as well.

 
Logged