• September 21, 2019, 10:35:19 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-655 rev B1 is useless. What are my options?  (Read 3103 times)

himcor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-655 rev B1 is useless. What are my options?
« on: March 04, 2014, 12:19:03 PM »

I've been reading all over the internet about people with serious problems with this router. At the retailer it was sold to me as the best and robust router especially for the heavy usage a normal young adult has. It turns out it cant handle anything. I'm having issues just browsing the internet. the over all respons time is really bad. If i hook up my laptop to my phones wireless hotspot i brows the web faster.

Thats just the snappiness of it. If i ever start to download anything/stream higher bitrates things goes out the window. If one device on the network is doing something "heavy" the loading times is so long it's unacceptable or nothing works at all. Trying to brows the web? sorry, page could not be displayed.
On my corded high end PC i can barely communicate with the router during load.

You claim you have a super advanced "Quo" engine which doesn't make anything better. Its exactly the same with it on as off.

Also streaming doesn't work. I have a 100/100Mbps fiber broadband line and a live news stream from the country's biggest on line news source is not only automatically at the lowest quality IT IS ALSO PAUSING TO BUFFER. The quality is wors than Russian dashcams on liveleak.

This is the third router Ive used in the last two years and it is BY FAR the worst performing of them. The only thing that is slightly better is the wifi range. But thats no surprise since it has three external antennas.

The reviews of this router was clearly about the

The reviews I read about this router was clearly for the older revisions and releasing this garbage pretending it was something else is to me completely unbelievable.

I paid alot for this but its not working as it's supposed to. I am not going to call your insanely expensive phone number in order to resolve this issue so I'm posting here instead.

Firmware Version: 2.09
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 rev B1 is useless. What are my options?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 12:38:23 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel. For the DGL-5500, review this for Streamboost information and settings: Furry's DGL-5500 Review
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.
  • Disable any downloading client software managers, i.e. Torrents or similar.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

himcor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-655 rev B1 is useless. What are my options?
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 08:04:27 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located? Europe(Sweden)
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? around 7 devices 1 corded 6 wireless
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed? yes
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? yes
FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?no

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?Fiber (LAN-cable socket in the wall)
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? no modem in the apartment as stated above
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing? Dynamic
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? 100/100
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU ValuesI did some ping tests and 1500 seems to be correct. This is also the preset in the router.
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Besure to log into the Admin account on the router. I use chrome and it works well.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel. For the DGL-5500, review this for Streamboost information and settings: Furry's DGL-5500 ReviewTurned off. Not working either way
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP. Turned off
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual. Turned on by default
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench and input new DNS addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual. Turned on by default
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting and maintain consistency for applications that need to connect as well as mapped drives. there are no conflicts, devices gets their own ips. This is not the issue
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address. They all are
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6. Not used so now disabled. didnt change anything
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used. done
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.done
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed set to 100
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time. Yes
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.the cable is working, i plugged it into my other internet source and everything is working. That is a 200Mbit totally separate cable connection

Wireless Configurations The issue is not wireless related. Its affecting all connections. Ive scanned the area and its choosing a good channel.
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic. I only have windows own security.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.
  • Disable any downloading client software managers, i.e. Torrents or similar.Ive tried everything both during 0 load and torrent load. Latest speedtest with no load gave me 23Mbit down. with torrent only seeding i get 0Mbit. Nothing works at all at that point.



Ive tried to change every setting that I could think of and also doing multiple factory resets but its not working. I have another router to compare with so I know the bandwith is really 100/100.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 rev B1 is useless. What are my options?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2014, 07:09:21 AM »

Is this ISP speed for a home or business? If it's for a business then this router isn't really designed for that.

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask about the 100/100Mb ISP speeds to see if this router can handle that kind of connection.

By default, the QoS engine may not be able to handle the uplink as the max on the uplink is 2Mb.

Ask them specifically what model router would handle the 100/100.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting