• October 19, 2019, 05:43:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP 1360  (Read 6893 times)

yuditst

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DAP 1360
« on: February 19, 2014, 06:11:23 PM »

Hoping someone can help me.  I am hardware illiterate.  My DAP 1360 kept losing signal/download speed.  So I thought I'd try to reset it.  I ended up changing it from repeater to access point mode and that is not what I wanted.  Now I can't get back to change it to repeater mode.  The 192.168.0.50 is showing as a connection issue.  
Can someone please in simple laymans terms help me.  Or should I just chuck both the router and extender and start from scratch?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 06:16:50 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 06:51:11 PM »

You will need to connect the DAP-1360 to your computer using an Ethernet cable (not wireless).

Once you connect them, you then need to login to the DAP-1360 router. Copy/paste this link  http://dlinkap/  into your browsers web address bar and press Enter.

The Dlink Login web page will display and show 'Admin' in the Login. As there is no password, click on Login button.

A new webpage will display. Click on WIRELESS SETUP (left side).
The Wireless Network Settings will display. In the first window of settings, find "Wireless Mode:" and click on the down arrow. A list of different modes will display.
Select the Mode you want "Repeater".

Once you have selected the Mode, go to the area above and click on Save Settings. The router will take about 30 seconds to save the new settings and a will then reboot itself. Disconnect the Ethernet cable and you should be able to connect via wireless.

Hope that helps.
Logged

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 12:31:46 PM »

yuditst, do not forget, download speed is reduced if using the unit as a repeater. Low signal or loss of signal, try and reposition the repeater for better wireless connection of the unit you are "repeating".

You could also (if possible) change the antennas on both units to 5dbi or something like that. It will give you better quality of the connection. And might give you a speed boost as well, as the low signal does give you bad speeds, regardless of using is as a repeater.

If you are on H/W.C (Rev.C) do not forget to upgrade to v3.04 of firmware if you are on v3.02 for better stable connection.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 12:59:58 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DAP? Look at sticker under DAP.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DAPs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations on Main Host Router
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy

  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

yuditst

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2014, 07:01:47 PM »

Okay - here's my next question/problem.  I have a dell hybrid.  It appears that there is only one input jack.  So how to I connect the internet and the extender to the computer if there aren't enough jacks?  When I connect the extender to the computer I lose the internet connection. 
Did not realize I upgraded my computer after I purchased the extender.

I'm not getting a signal towards the back of my house.  Are there any other options that would work as an extender for my DIR 601?
Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2014, 01:41:22 AM »

You don't need to be connected to the internet to make the change from Access Point to Repeater mode. Just use the connection (as explained Post #2 above) to connect the DAP-1360 to your Dell Hybrid and make the mode change. Then go back to the setup you had for connecting to the internet via wireless.
Logged

yuditst

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2014, 04:16:06 AM »

It appears that I'm having problems connecting to the dlinkap website without the extender being plugged in AND being connected to the internet.  There doesn't appear to be a way around this.  Do I need to mention that I have a desktop that's not set up for wifi??
Logged

ozcaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2014, 12:20:45 PM »

Your not connecting to the Dlinkap website, your only logging in to the DAP-1360 internal settings.

I would suggest starting all over again like when you first bought the device. Follow the instructions and set up your wireless settings again in the DAP-1360. Use the internal "Launch Wireless Setup Wizard" create your connection.
Logged

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DAP 1360
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2014, 06:26:42 AM »

yuditst, make it easy.

1. Disconnect the dap-1360 from the LAN (the cable). The proceed with reseting the unit with the reset button (consult manual if unsure).

2. Disconnect LAN cable from your dell computer.
3. Configure dell computer with manual IP (192.168.0.100) and submask (255.255.255.0) and save that.
4. Connect a LAN cable from the dell computer to the DAP-1360
5. Power up the dap-1360 and wait for two minutes
4. Connect with a browser to http://192.168.0.50
5. Login with admin / blank (no password leave it empty)
6. Now you can configure the unit or do whatever you need

http://www.speedguide.net/routers/d-link-dap-1360-wireless-n-access-point-bridge-955

All of the above information is in the manual
Logged