• September 19, 2020, 06:30:55 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?  (Read 3632 times)

Nic

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« on: March 31, 2014, 01:31:11 PM »

Has anyone got the 850L working with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2014, 01:37:38 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Nic

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2014, 01:49:36 PM »

Hi and thanks for such a swift reply.

I'm in the UK and have a separate modem.
Modem is as provided by BT.
Dynamic IP
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2014, 01:56:37 PM »

I presume in most cases it should connect fine. We recommend having the ISP modem hand over a public IP address or give all NAT operations to the DIR series router. Unless the ISP modem can't however if it has a DMZ, you could use the modems DMZ for the routers IP address...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Nic

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2014, 02:26:15 AM »

Unfortunately the TalkTalk screen says that the router is "Not TV Ready"!

Anyone got any ideas how to overcome this?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2014, 06:55:35 AM »

"Not TV Ready"  ??? Meaning that the DIR-850L isn't TV ready?

I'd phone contact your ISP and ask them about what router is supported and what this TV Ready means?? Maybe instead of getting a DIR series router, maybe getting into a D-Link DAP model AP is all that you need...Use the ISP modem as your main host router...


Unfortunately the TalkTalk screen says that the router is "Not TV Ready"!

Anyone got any ideas how to overcome this?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Nic

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2014, 05:04:56 AM »

Thanks for your advice - I have no idea what "Not TV ready" means, either!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone paired the 850L with TalkTalk FibreOptic?
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2014, 07:08:37 AM »

Let us know what you find out from the ISP...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!