• July 20, 2019, 01:31:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Problem with Multicast  (Read 2659 times)

point

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Problem with Multicast
« on: January 30, 2014, 06:03:55 AM »

Hi,

I need a little help.

I'm using DIR-655 as a switch on my home network, connected to a Tecnicolor TG784v3 IPTV router, through one of the LAN ports, and with DHCP disabled.

On of the devices i have connected o DIR-655 is a IPTV TVBox, wich is receiving Multicast traffic from the main router.

However, the DIR-655 is redirecting the Multicast packages to all the network devices, like a L2 Switch would do.

Is this normal? DIR-655 should be able to redirect the multicast traffic only to the connected TVBox..

If i enable the 'Multicast Streams' option, on D-Link, he starts redirecting the packages correctly, but after a few seconds, all my network collapses...  :o

The installed FW is 1.37WW

Can anyone help me?

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47578
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problem with Multicast
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2014, 12:51:25 PM »

IF the 655 is in wired AP mode, I think you need to disable multicast on the 655. Just use it as a wireless pass thru and don't allow any processing. Let the main host router handle the multicast features if it supports that. I presume that maybe multicast may not work in wired AP mode since it may be dependent upon the WAN port router mode being used.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

point

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Problem with Multicast
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2014, 02:05:27 AM »

well, i gess you're wright

too bad, the switch part of this router can't handle multicast traffic correctly... :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47578
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problem with Multicast
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2014, 07:35:00 AM »

I presume it does handle the traffic correctly when it Router mode connected with the WAN port. Your using it in AP mode and not using the WAN port.  ::)  You could change back to router mode and use the WAN port, input the routers IP address it gets from the Main router and put that into the main host routers DMZ and test. Again, This maybe additional processing that may not be needed. It's preferred to let the 1st or main host router do all the processing, and any additional APs, just need to be used and APs and pass thru. Keep any redundant processing to a minimum.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting