• October 25, 2020, 07:30:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: I can't to connect WiFi  (Read 8820 times)

felipebcardoso

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
I can't to connect WiFi
« on: January 16, 2014, 05:49:18 AM »

Hi,

I bought my DIR-636L on sunday night. I did configure everything and it was working good.
Meantime, I can't to connect WiFi at moment.

I see my WiFi network on iPhone but when I try to connect it show an error message.

I restarted my router, I changed password, I updated firmware to 1.04, I came back factory configuration...
but I cant to connect WiFi network

Any tips how can I fix it?

Sorry my bad english :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I can't to connect WiFi
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 06:45:23 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.

Try having the iPhone "Forget this Network", reboot the iPhone then try to reconnect...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

felipebcardoso

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: I can't to connect WiFi
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2014, 06:53:25 AM »

Hello FurryNutz

I live in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

I did all "Wireless Configurations" yesterday and it didn't works :(

and I tryed "Forget This Network" and it didn't workd too. And I have the same problema in another cellphone :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I can't to connect WiFi
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2014, 07:20:16 AM »

Try this, disable the WPA/WPA2 security temporarily and then try to connect the phones? Do they connect then?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

felipebcardoso

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: I can't to connect WiFi
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2014, 07:00:18 PM »

Even disable WPA/WPA2 I can't to connect WiFi

Another tip?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I can't to connect WiFi
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2014, 09:33:09 AM »

I would do the following, download the latest FW build for your region, unpack the .bin file.
http://suporte.dlink.com.br/suporte/produto_detalhes.php?fa=RElS&eq=NjM2TA==

Using IE or FF with add-ons and any PC 3rd party security programs disabled temporarily.
Turn off ALL other devices and connect up 1 wired LAN pc to the router. Disconnect the ISP modem from the router. Just you, PC and router.
Factory reset the router from the Tools/System menu.
Send the .bin FW file from the Tools/Firmware and let it process and reboot.
After it reboots, do one more factory reset, plug in ISP modem cable and then set up the router from scratch.

Setup SSID and PW, try single mode G, WPA2 and TPIK only and test your WiFi devices.

Let us know the results...
« Last Edit: January 18, 2014, 09:37:00 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!