• October 20, 2019, 07:06:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error  (Read 6723 times)

AeroRamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« on: December 21, 2013, 07:12:34 AM »


 Hi all. First message here. I’ve owned my D-Link DIR-632 Wireless Router for a couple of years now but I am fairly content with it but I am experiencing one problem now.

 I reserve IP addresses to my computers/wifi devices in my network using their MAC. Lately I’ve been trying to add  a few more to the ‘DHCP RESERVATIONS LIST’ through the ‘ADD/EDIT DHCP RESERVATION’ or clicking ‘Reserve’ on the NUMBER OF DYNAMIC DHCP CLIENTS’ but the router hangs and shows me a message that ‘###.###.###.### is not responding due to a long-running script error'.

 I tried IE, Goggle Chrome, re-install router firmware and nothing works. I have 13 other computers/wifi devices already with reserved IP’s. My ‘DHCP IP Address Range’ is set for 20 IP’s.
The only changes I’ve made to the system was to add a NetGear wifi router as a wifi Access Point (AP) and disable the D-Link wifi. But even after that I was able to reserve at least one device IP.

I am able to make any other changes to the router setting and save them with no issues. I am running WIN7, IE11, Google Chrome Version 31.0.1650.63 m, and the latest D-Link DIR-632 firmware version: 1.03NA. The hardware version is A1.

Any ideas?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2013, 10:13:03 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.

Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AeroRamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2013, 12:37:29 PM »



 I am un North East Florida, Jacksonville.

 I tried disabling AVG Business Edition 2012 and the AVG Firewall before and that did not help. Regarding your comment on 3rd party antivirus program, are you recommending disabling the AVG firewall permanently?

 I am running IE11 and Google Chrome. I tried FF from another computer (Laptop) and had the same issue. I disabled all 'currently running' add-ons and have no Ad-Block programs.

 I cleared the cache and deleted all temp files from both browsers on the last test before posting this thread.

 I tried your recommended Google setting and get the 'Page(s) Unresponsive' error message.

 Thanks for the welcome message and for trying to help.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2013, 02:00:58 PM »

Just temporarily while your working with the router. Turn back on when you done.

Has a factory reset been done?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AeroRamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2015, 06:17:58 AM »


 It appears that I can only reserve 13 IP's. If I try to reserve a 14th IP that is when I get the long-running script error. I do not recall if I did a factory reset. The router is running Firmware Version : 1.03NA, Tue, 7 Feb 2012.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2015, 07:19:00 AM »

It's recommended to perform a factory reset before and after applying any FW udpates then set up from scratch.

Link> >FW Update Process

Possible that this model router has limited IP address reservation ability.

You can try this, set a static IP address on devices like printers, cameras, controllers and items that don't need much router management. Please review this:
DHCP

Static IPs should be outside of the routers default IP address pool of 192.168.100 thru .199.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AeroRamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2015, 08:58:02 AM »


 That is an idea. I'll try that. Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR Not responding due to a long-running script error
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2015, 07:23:00 AM »

Let us know how it goes please.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting