• July 23, 2019, 08:34:13 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: CenturyLink DSL  (Read 27775 times)

PG

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2012, 01:07:01 PM »

Nope, that didn't work either. And even if it did, I'm not sure I'd be comfortable lowering the security to that level.

I'm ready to give up. As much as I would like my network to stand behind my own router, I don't see what else can be done other than to just use their router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2012, 01:12:41 PM »

Your not lowering any security, just how NAT is handled.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

Other than this, you might be stuck with there modem and router. IF this is the case then I might try using a external network switch on the back end of the modem and maybe add on a DAP model AP wireless device for wifi instead of using a external router like the 655.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

PG

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2012, 01:37:36 PM »

IF this is the case then I might try using a external network switch on the back end of the modem and maybe add on a DAP model AP wireless device for wifi instead of using a external router like the 655.

We're getting into new territory for me - would you mind taking the time to explain why you recommend this setup? Or maybe a link? I'll understand if you don't; you've already given much of your time and I appreciate your effort.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2012, 01:54:58 PM »

Sure.
Reason for my suggestion, it seems that some ISP Modems have built in router. Some can be disabled or bridged and effectively turning that function off with in the modem and giving that duty to the external router, i.e. DIR-655. In some cases however, we've seen that in most recent ISP Modems, they are making it hard to let the modem and external router interact with each other. One reason is that ISP are providing more than just Internet service, there providing voice and video services as well, as this is all being handled by the ISP Modem. Thus bridging is not an option on some of these modems. This can make working with external routers a bit more difficult as external routers are designed to handle internet services, DHCP Cable and DSL PPPoE and other protocols. Having 2 routers on the same line causes Double NAT issues among other problems seen when in this configuration. Sometimes most ISP modem include was called DMZ. This option is supposed to un-filter and pass any and all data traffic from the Internet side of the modem or router to the private LAN side with out any interference. In most cases this works and helps with connecting external routers should the ISP modem not allow any bridging. I've seen in some DSL modems as of last there has a newer version of DMZ (Plus) which is supposed to work well, however, some people are having some problems with it and working with various devices. So it seems were hitting another bump in the road with modems and external routers.

The reason for mentioning the DAP-1525 for example, model APs and and switch in your case, it seems to be that the ISP modem is going all the modem and routing and networking functions. It's possible in come cases that customers can buy there own modem hardware to use with external routers as well. Some ISP don't allow this. There are pros and cons to all this. Anyways, if the ISP modem is going to handle all the modem, router and networking functions, why have another router trying to do the same thing. Lets take the external router off the line and replace with just a AP and a switch. The AP will provide you with 2.4 and or 5Ghz Wifi and the switch will provide you with additional wired connections should the ISP modem be limted to 4 ports or a few in back. Doing this will eliminate the extra external router condition with the ISP modem and router thats already doing the job.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Help any?  ;)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2012, 10:16:53 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

satcomranger

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2012, 06:58:42 PM »

This suggestion works great and I thank you for posting this info ..  I too have centurylink with their junk zyxel pk5000Z .. the zyxel did not do port forwarding correctly, setting up reserved dhcp wouldnt work, and about half a dozen other things ..

Followed both the Century Link and Zyxel self helps at turning off wireless and then putting it in transparent bridge mode.  All you need from that hunk of junk is the ppoe user name and ppoe password ... plug those into the DIR-655 and changed settings recommended on the first page of this post .. smacked the connect button PURRFECT ..   Thanks !

VPI / VCI  those settings are in the zyxel 

Running A4 hardware with  1.21 on the 655
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 07:09:21 PM by satcomranger »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CenturyLink DSL (RESOLVED)
« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2012, 08:11:49 PM »

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

joebedford

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2013, 10:29:30 AM »

Having trouble getting my DIR-655 to connect to the internet through the ZyXEL PK5000Z they sent me. I can connect to the Internet when connecting a computer directly to the ZyXEL, but my network is behind the 655 and I cannot get that and the ZyXEL to play nice. Any suggestions or advice are appreciated.

DIR-655 HW A3 FW 1.21
PPPoE connection

*Update* - After searching the FAQ, I discovered D-Links recommendation to bridge the DSL Modem / D-Link Router. Once accomplished, the two devices play nice with each other.
I have a Zyxel PK5001Z that works OK when I connect to it directly. At home I have my DIR-825 (2.02NA) connected to my Bell Dsl modem no problem.

Now, (at this different location) with my Dlink connected to the Century Link Zyxel (patch cable from internet port on the router to one of the 4 ethernet ports on the modem), it displays that it has internet connectivity and my PC says it's connected to the internet, but my browsers won't display any webpages.

What exactly did you do to 'bridge' the modems?

Thanks, Joe
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2013, 11:17:37 AM »

Try this?
http://forums.xbox.com/xbox_forums/xbox_support/networking-hardware/01-modems-gateways/zyxel/f/3605/p/509762/2397455.aspx

Or this: http://ethernetwirelessbridges.com/how-to-put-your-qwest-pk5000z-router-into-bridge-mode.html

When you do this, you'll need to have your PPPoE dsl user name and PW ready to input on the DIR-655 under Setup/Internet/Manual/Connection Type/PPPoE. Power off both DIR and ISP Modem, then power on Modem and let it sync, then power on DIR router.

  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.


I have a Zyxel PK5001Z that works OK when I connect to it directly. At home I have my DIR-825 (2.02NA) connected to my Bell Dsl modem no problem.

Now, (at this different location) with my Dlink connected to the Century Link Zyxel (patch cable from internet port on the router to one of the 4 ethernet ports on the modem), it displays that it has internet connectivity and my PC says it's connected to the internet, but my browsers won't display any webpages.

What exactly did you do to 'bridge' the modems?

Thanks, Joe
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

joebedford

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: CenturyLink DSL
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2013, 12:49:41 PM »

Thanks furrynutz: the first video was exactly what I needed. All is working now.

Only wrinkle was that CenturyLink hadn't given my my PPPoE password - I had to phone them to get it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47584
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CenturyLink DSL (RESOLVED)
« Reply #24 on: December 13, 2013, 02:00:43 PM »

Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.  ;)

Thanks furrynutz: the first video was exactly what I needed. All is working now.

Only wrinkle was that CenturyLink hadn't given my my PPPoE password - I had to phone them to get it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]