• November 18, 2019, 08:54:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names  (Read 4718 times)

yakuzah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« on: November 21, 2013, 11:43:13 AM »

Is there an option to get to the advanced Wireless features on both 2.4 and 5Ghz please?

I would like to clearly differentiate between the two bands but when the device is in Bridged mode It appears you can only set one or the other bands to work and only with a single name!

Also unable to change any of the wireless settings in Bridged mode, like channel etc, which you can change when using the device out of bridged mode??!!?  Why please?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am on Firmware A1 1.04

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2013, 12:25:33 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

When in bridge mode, i think your only allowed 1 or the other bands, not both simultaneously.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

yakuzah

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 01:46:46 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

When in bridge mode, i think your only allowed 1 or the other bands, not both simultaneously.

I am based in the UK

That is kinda idiotic to have hardware that supports dual band but you can only use one band while in bridged mode!! Ridiculous!

If I had know that I would have never ever purchased this device and bought an alternate AP from Apple or someone else who I know can support this mode.

Why is the hardware configured this way?

If I cannot use the device in bridged mode is there an alternate way of switching of my existing routers wireless and using this device to connect without using bridged mode please?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2013, 03:35:50 AM »

Kinda huh???  ???

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0

I would contact your regional D-Link support office and ask them about this.

Good Luck.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2013, 10:35:51 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

raven-au

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2014, 07:21:26 PM »

I am based in the UK

That is kinda *****ic to have hardware that supports dual band but you can only use one band while in bridged mode!! Ridiculous!

It's not, that's bridge mode by definition.

What your expecting is repeater mode but that is not usually provided on dlink routers and in fact historically neither was bridge mode, that's more recent.

If you need repeater mode then you probably need one of the dlink access points, not one of the routers.

Ian
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Bridge Mode Wireless Different SSID Names
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2014, 01:08:27 PM »

I don't think D-Link even makes a dual band Bridge that operates both bands in bridge mode.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting