• June 05, 2020, 03:03:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Issue connecting 865l via modem  (Read 4075 times)

caverman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Issue connecting 865l via modem
« on: October 29, 2013, 09:53:07 AM »

Hi,
I recently purchased the dir-865l to improve my home network. Previously I was using my ISP modem/router which was limited in performance and functionality

My plan was to set up the dir-865l with DHCP and have all my devices connected through it. And use my ISP modem/router purely as a modem. Unfortunately the modem doesn't allow a Bridge mode, so I have left my modem using DHCP to assign an internal IP to the 865l.

I connected my Modem to my 865l through the WAN port, which is assigning a dynamic IP (from the modem) as my WAN ip.... is this an issue? When I try and connect to an external address, the connection times out (on client computer and also through the tools section on the 865l admin pages). Originally I thought it was a DNS issue, but trying to connect via an IP address fails also.

Am I missing something obvious? Should I be able to have the 865l running behind a modem issuing a dynamic IP?

ISP: Telus Canada
Modem: Actiontec V1000H
Router Firmware: 1.05

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2013, 10:11:47 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

I believe your ISP modem is a router/modem combo...check to see if it can be bridged.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caverman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2013, 10:18:05 AM »

yes it is a router/modem combo but unfortunately the ISP have removed Bridging as an option.

I have tried putting the router into DMZ but it didn't appear to make any difference.

Do I need to do anything with the MTU or PPPoE options? These are all set on the ISP modem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2013, 10:28:42 AM »

If the ISP modem was bridged, the PPPoE options would be used. If not, then DHCP should be used. You might change the 865L routers IP address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.254 and test. Some time ISP modems carry the same .0.1 address and will conflict with D-Link routers that use the same address.

You might ask your ISP if they support a stand alone modem solution so as you don't need the built in modem.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caverman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2013, 11:30:29 AM »

From reading up on it if I could enable bridging (supposedly it was possible on an older firmware), it messes up with the IPTV. So I think I will stick with trying to get double NAS working. I few forums mention that both the Modem and Router must be on different IP ranges, so I will try that this evening.

Currently the Modem and Router have different IP addresses but are both on the 192.168.1.x subnet so will move one of them on to the 192.168.0.x subnet and try from there.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2013, 11:31:49 AM »

Keep us posted...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

caverman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2013, 08:42:02 AM »

Just an update on this, when I got home, I tried to change my Modem's DHCP range.... but since it was locked down by the ISP that was not possible so I changed the Dlink DHCP range to be 192.168.0.x. And all seems to work and I can connect to the web.

However for some reason this morning my laptop couldn't connect to the 5 GHz wifi network. Was working last night but this morning it just wouldn't. Didn't have time to troubleshoot it so hopefully its nothing too major.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue connecting 865l via modem (RESOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2013, 09:31:54 AM »

Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.

Review this for further router and WiFi troubleshooting:
Router Troubleshooting Suggestions and Tips
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!